Our People

We are a key academic health partner in the state of Delaware. Led by Dean Bill Farquhar, the College of Health Sciences is home to talented faculty and staff internationally recognized for their research, teaching and service to their specific fields. Above all, we are dedicated to being the embodiment of a new direction in health, which our students, faculty and staff are forging now through education, research, care and innovation.


Kathleen S. Matt headshot

William B. Farquhar

Dean, College of Health Sciences
charles buz swanik headshot

charles buz swanik

Deputy Dean, College of Health Sciences
Freda Patterson headshot

Freda Patterson

Associate Dean of Research, College of Health Sciences
Jillian Trabulsi headshot

Jillian Trabulsi

Department Chair, Health Behavior & Nutrition Sciences
Diane Chugani headshot

Diane Chugani

Interim Chair, Communication Sciences & Disorders
Founding Director Jennifer Horney

Jennifer Horney

Professor and Founding Director, Epidemiology
Interim Director, Partnership for Healthy Communities
John J. Jeka headshot

John J. Jeka

Chair, Kinesiology & Applied Physiology

Elizabeth Speakman

Senior Associate Dean, Nursing
Esther Biswas-Fiss headshot

Esther Biswas-Fiss

Department Chair, Medical and Molecular Sciences
Darcy Reisman headshot

Darcy Reisman

Department Chair, Physical Therapy
regina sims wright headshot

regina sims wright

Associate Dean, Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion
catherine stoner headshot

catherine stoner

Senior Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Student Services
Martha Hall headshot

Martha Hall

Director, Innovation
michael smith headshot

michael smith

Director, Strategic Initiatives
gina porter headshot

Gina Kinderman

Chief of Staff
maria taylor headshot

maria taylor

Director, CHS Facilities Planning
Amanda Boone

Amanda Boone

Director, Human Resources
Susan Villermaux

Susan Villermaux

Chief Business Officer
Kelly Bachman

Kelly Bachman

Director, Communication & Marketing
Barbara Vogt

Kathy Kampe

Assistant to the Dean

Anita Stofa

Administrative Specialist
  Name Email Association
Cindy Bo cindy.bo@nemours.org Nemours Children's Health System
Alfred I.duPont Hospital for Children
Timothy J. Constantine timothy.constantine@highmark.com United Concordia Dental
Bob Dayton robertdayton2@yahoo.com Delaware BioScience Association
Theodore J. Foltyn tjfoltyn@udel.edu Foltyn Consulting
Michael J. Fosina mfosina@nyp.org NYP Lawrence Hospital
Martha S. Gilman marthag@gildevco.com Gilman Development Company &
Cornell Property Management Corporation
Richard Heffron Oleowl_2001@yahoo.com DE State Chamber of Commerce
Amelia Knarr ameliaknarr@mac.com Elite PT, LLC
John Knarr jkelite@mac.com Elite PT, LLC
Linda Laskowski-Jones lindalj2622@comcast.net Nursing, the Journal of Clinical Excellence
Alan M. Levin all9045@nyp.org New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Queens
Nancy Malatesta malatestan3@gmail.com Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics
Dade Behring, Dupont Medical Division
Carolyn M. McNeice mcneicelaw@comcast.net Family Practice Attorney
R. Peter Mercer jpmercer@comcast.net General Electric & Honeywell
Kenan J. Sklenar Kslenar@esdel.org Easter Seals Delaware & Maryland's Eastern Shore
Andy Stern andy@cluboaksconsulting.com Club Oaks Consulting
David A. Tam dtam@beebehealthcare.org Beebe Healthcare
Amy Cherry

Amy Cherry

Communication Specialist

Kristen Troy

Digital Communication Specialist, Web / Social Media
Ashley Barnas

Ashley Barnas

Digital Communication Specialist, Video / Photo
Colin Heffinger

Colin Heffinger

Part-Time Writer
karen sunkler headshot

karen sunkler

Events Manager

Alicia Downer

Facilities Coordinator

Jacqueline Wilson

Director, Business Operations

Anna Ponce


Becca Usher

Business Administrator I

Jes Mitchell

Founding Director Jennifer Horney

Jennifer Horney

Professor and Founding Director, Epidemiology
Interim Director, Partnership for Healthy Communities
Christine Sowinski

Christine Sowinski

Program Coordinator, H.E.A.L.T.H. for All Initiative, Partnerships for Healthy Communities

Kate DuPont Phillips

Director, Healthy Communities Delaware Initiative, Partnerships for Healthy Communities

Paulette Hussey-Kasten

Administrative Assistant, Partnerships for Healthy Communities

Nazli "Naz" Najiyyah

HR Coordinator
Kimberly DeShields

Kimberly DeShields

HR Generalist
LaVonne Sumler

LaVonne Sumler

Grants Manager

210EE STAR Health Sciences Complex

Emily Diamond

Grants Analyst II

Mya Ritson-Smith

Grants Analyst I

Vicki Shivery

Senior Grants Analyst

Ife Soyemi

Grants Analyst II
Emily Lodyga

Emily Lodyga

Assistant Dean
Melissa Betau

Melissa Betau

Academic Support Coordinator

Emily Barefoot

Academic Advisor

Julie Carney-Jones

Academic Advisor

Rita Ninarello

Academic Advisor

Natalie Zettle

Academic Advisor

Dan Coleman

Director, STAR/South Campus IT
Ken Anunda

Ken Anunda

Computer Support Specialist
Jeremy Ruggiero

Jeremy Ruggiero

IT Support Consultant II, IT-Client Support & Services
TamunoTonye “Nemi” Nemi

TamunoTonye “Nemi” Nemi

IT Support Consultant II, IT-Client Support & Services
Chris Sanabria

Chris Ketterling

Computer Support Specialist