Staff located in Sussex County

A searchable database organized by category.
Find a complete listing of our Extension staff at our various offices.
Carvel-13

Sussex County

Research & Education Ctr.
16483 County Seat Highway
Georgetown, DE 19947
Phone: (302) 856-7303

County Extension Director: Cory Whaley

mark-isaacs

Meet Our Director 

In 1992, Mark Isaacs was named the fourth director of what was then known as UD's Research and Education Center or "Substation." During this early tenure, Isaacs oversaw the funding and construction of what is today the Elbert N. and Ann V. Carvel Research and Education Center completed in 2006. 

A native of Georgetown, Delaware, Isaacs earned his B.S. in Agronomy and a M.S. in Agronomy/Weed Science from Clemson University. In 2000, Isaacs completed his Ph.D. in Plant Physiology in Weed Science from Virginia Polytech Institute and State University.

Under Isaacs leadership, the southern campus of the University of Delaware College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, known as the Carvel Center for short, developed strong ties with local and state legislators, expanded personnel and facility capital, which in addition to the 2006 Carvel facility, included a $4 million renovation for Lasher Laboratory.

An Associate Professor in CANR's Plant and Soil Science Department, Isaacs teaches classes from Georgetown and Newark, advising undergraduate and graduate students alike. Since 2014, at least 31 students have benefitted from tailored and strategic internships arranged throughout the state, in the public and private sector.

As the Carvel Center director, Isaacs oversees and directs agronomic and vegetable research conducted at the Center and on off-farm locations. Isaacs conducts applied research in the area of agronomic crops, weed control and assists growers and industry professionals in troubleshooting weed control and basic agronomic problems.

Research & Extension Staff at the Carvel Center

Administrative Staff

Karen Adams
Administrative Assistant
adams@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 ext. 540

Lisa Collins
Admin. Assistant - Lasher Lab
lcollins@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 ext. 702

Marvin Duffy
ITV Technician/Media Services
duffy@udel.edu
(302)856-7303 ext. 518

Kim Lewis
Administrative Assistant
kimlewis@udel.edu
(302) 856-7303 ext. 542

Tammy Schirmer
Administrative Assistant
tammys@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 ext. 544

Cathy VanSciver
Administrative Assistant
cathyv@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 x 508

Michele Walfred
Communications Specialist
walfred@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 x 550

Sharon Webb
Business Administrator
swebb@u
del.edu
(302) 856-2585 ext. 502

Farm and Facility Staff

 

Stephen Collier
Research Manager
slc@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 ext.581

Vic Green
Associate Scientist 
vmgreen@udel.edu
(302) 856-7303

Ward Harris
Research Associate
harris@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 ext. 750

Brian Hearn
Farm Manager
bhearn@udel.edu
(302) 856-7303 ext. 750

Gunnar Isaacs
Research Associate
gunnar@udel.edu
(302) 856-7303 ext. 580

Bill Lewis
Facillity Worker
walewis@udel.edu
(302) 856-7303 

Chad Messick
Farm Assistant
cmessick@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 ext. 750



Kyle Mitchell

Farm Assistant
kylem@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 x 751

Bo Waller
Facility Technician
bwaller@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 x 558

Tom Warren
Farm Assistant
twarren@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 ext. 751

Mary Ann Wheatley
Facility Worker
wheaty@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 ext. 556 

George "Buddy" Willey
Farm Assistant
willey@udel.edu
(302) 856-2585 ext. 751