Beginning Farmer Program

Registration Coming Soon

About this program

The Delaware Beginning Farmer Program is for new and beginner farmers working in small-scale vegetable and/or fruit production. Through hands-on training, demonstrations, workshops, field trips and farm tours, as well as self-study, growers will spend an entire season learning and growing with Delaware Cooperative Extension, and other invited agriculture industry professionals.

Although not limited to the following topics, this training will explore the fundamentals of soil fertility and health, basic crop production, integrated pest management, food safety, and business planning and development.

This training will also provide an excellent networking opportunity. Sessions are covered by one affordable registration fee of $75. Sessions are held at the University of Delaware Cooperative Extension office and Fischer Greenhouse on the University of Delaware campus.

Sessions are covered by one affordable registration fee of $75.  Sessions are held at Fischer Greenhouse on the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources' campus in Newark, unless otherwise noted.

  • Wednesday, September 11, 6-8 pm, Course Orientation, Soil Basics
  • Saturday, September 14, 9-11 am, Greenhouse Production/Tour
  • Wednesday, September 25, 6-8 pm, Variety Selection
  • Wednesday, October 9, 6-8 pm, Small Farm Business Planning
  • Saturday, October 12, 9-11 am, Field Trip to Against the Grain Farm at William Penn Farm
  • Wednesday, October 23, 6-8 pm, Weed Identification and Management
  • Wednesday, November 6, 6-8 pm, Integrated Pest Management:¬† Insect and Disease Pests
  • Saturday, November 9, 9-11 am, Plant Diagnostic Clinic, UD Fresh to You
  • Wednesday, November 20, 6-8 pm, Small Animals
  • Wednesday, December 4, 6-8 pm, Delaware Beginning Farmer Resource Panel with DDA, NRCS, Farm Bureau and others

Program contacts