Our Faculty & Staff


Below you will find information about how to contact our department faculty members and administrative staff.

Our faculty members are well recognized for research and their scholarly work, including four named chairs and numerous scientific society fellows. 

Our faculty members are well recognized for research and their scholarly work, including four named chairs and numerous scientific society fellows. 


  • Zach Hammaker, landscape designer, ZH Design
  • Rodney Robinson, president, Robinson Anderson Summers, Inc. and principal,  Rodney Robinson Landscape Architects, Inc.
  • Gregory Binford, National Director of Advanced Agronomic Training, Wilbur-Ellis
  • Anthony Buda, USDA-ARS Pasture Systems and Watershed Management Research Unit
  • Vince D'Amico, Resident Scientist, U.S. Forest Service, Northern Research Station
  • Nicole Fiorellino, Extension Agronomist, University of Maryland
  • Mingxin Guo, Professor, Delaware State University
  • Jinjun Kan, Stroud Water Research Center
  • Blake Meyers, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
  • Diana Oviedo Vargas, Stroud Water Research Center
  • Marc Peipoch, Assistant Research Scientist, Stroud Water Research Center
  • Richard Pouyat, National Program Leader for Air and Soil Quality Research, U.S. Forest Service
  • Hajime Sakai, CEO, NAPIGEN, Inc.
  • Ryan Tappero, Lead Scientist, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Matthew Taylor, Director, Research and Conservation, Longwood Gardens
  • Brian Trader, President and CEO, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
  • Jenwei Tsai, Delaware DNREC
  • Randall Wisser, INRAE, French National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and Environment
  • Byung-Chun Yoo, Delaware Biotechnology Institute
  • Peter Zale, Associate Director, Conservation, Plant Breeding and Collections, Longwood Gardens
  • Robert Carroll, emeritus professor
  • Charles Dunham, emeritus professor
  • John Frett, emeritus professor
  • David Frey, associate professor
  • James Hawk, emeritus professor
  • Sherry Kitto, professor
  • Robert Lyons, emeritus professor
  • Allen Morehart, emeritus professor
  • Wallace Pill, emeritus professor
  • Thompson Pizzolato, professor
  • J. Thomas Sims, professor and deputy dean
  • James Swasey, emeritus professor
Name (click name for more information):



Monica Accerbi Research Associate III / Green Lab (302) 831-4642 accerbi@dbi.udel.edu
Andrew Adams Horticulture Manager (302) 831-0909 aadamsud@udel.edu
Mohammed Afsar Post Doctoral Researcher / Jin Lab (302) 249-8517 mzafsar@udel.edu
Aparajita Banerjee Post Doctoral Researcher / Caplan Lab (302) 831-0854 abanerje@udel.edu
William (Bill) Bartz Greenhouse Manager (302) 831-3574 wcbartz@udel.edu
Kreshnik Bejleri Post Doctoral Researcher / VanGessel Lab (302) 856-7303 kbejleri@udel.edu
Valann Budischak Associate Director, Botanic Gardens (302) 831-4188 valannb@udel.edu
Tim Chaya Research Associate III / Caplan Lab (302) 831-0854 tchaya@udel.edu
John Emerson Extension Agent I (302) 730-4000 jremer@udel.edu
Emmalea Ernest Scientist (302) 856-7303 emmalea@udel.edu
Barbra Ferrell Associate Scientist / Wommack Lab (302) 831-0148 ferrellb@udel.edu
Matthew Fischel Post Doctoral Researcher / D. Sparks Lab (302) 831-8435 fischel@udel.edu
Karen Gartley Research Manager / Program Director, UD Soil Testing Program (302) 831-1385 kgartley@udel.edu
Hilary Gibson Program Coordinator / Nutrient Management Program (302) 735-8137
Katelyn Gray Post Doctoral Researcher / Jaisi Lab (302) 831-4749 graykat@udel.edu
Christopher Holton Limited Term Researcher / Koehler Lab (302) 856-7303 cholton@udel.edu
Ashley Hostetler Post Doctoral Researcher / E. Sparks Lab (302) 831-2427 ahende@udel.edu
Eugene Law  Post Doctoral Researcher / VanGessel Lab (302) 856-7303 eplaw@udel.edu
Van Huong Le  Post Doctoral Researcher / Vargas Lab   vanle@udel.edu
Chander Lekha Analytical Chemist / Soil Testing Program (302) 831-8407 chander@udel.edu
Matthew Limmer Post Doctoral Researcher / Seyfferth Lab (302) 831-6210 limmer@udel.edu
Tracy McMullen Business Administrator II (302) 831-8153 tracymc@udel.edu
Vinay Nagarajan Associate Scientist /  Green Lab (302) 831-3400 nagarajan@dbi.udel.edu
Joseph Paller Lab Coordinator I / Soil Testing Program (302) 831-8407  jpaller@udel.edu
Maria Pautler Research Associate III / Seyfferth & Shober Labs (302) 831-0847 mpautler@udel.edu
Erin Peck Post Doctoral Researcher / Inamdar Lab   erinpeck@udel.edu
Jill Pollok Plant Diagnostician (302) 831-1390 jillp@udel.edu
Abby Reeves UD Fresh to You Farm Manager (419) 605-7116  aereeves@udel.edu
Jon Reneau Limited Term Researcher / E. Sparks Lab (302)-831-1447 jreneau@udel.edu
Sydney Riggi Extension Agent III (302) 730-4000 sydney@udel.edu
Gabriel Robles Luna Post Doctoral Researcher / Lee Lab  (302) 831-4671 garobles@udel.edu
Claudio Rubione Research Associate I / VanGessel Lab (302) 856-7303 crubione@udel.edu
Yuriy Sakhno Post Doctoral Researcher / Jaisi Lab (302) 831-4749 ysakhno@udel.edu
Barbara Scott Associate Scientist (302) 856-7303 bascott@udel.edu
Taozhu Sun  Post Doctoral Researcher / Jin Lab (302) 563-0084 taozhu@udel.edu
Shawn Tingle Research Associate II (302) 856-7303 tingle@udel.edu
Teclemariam (Tecle) Weldekidan Scientist / E. Sparks & Wisser Labs (302) 831-1381 tecle@udel.edu
Jing Yan Post Doctoral Researcher / Jin Lab    yanjing@udel.edu
Name (click the name for further information): Title: Phone: Email:
Rodney Dempsey Horticultural Greenhouse Supervisor (302) 831-1374 dempsey@udel.edu
Gail Ferry Administrative Assistant II (302) 831-3409 gferry@udel.edu
Laurie Jones    Administrative Assistant III     (302) 831-6378 joneslj@udel.edu
Diana Mesa Administrative Assistant II (302) 831-2534 dpmesa@udel.edu
Susan Winkelmayer Administrative Assistant (302) 831-6161 swink@udel.edu