Microbiology: Faculty

A message from the Directors

Microbes are both the cause of and the solution to many of humanity’s grand challenges in human health, sustainable agriculture, protection of natural environments, cleaning up polluted environments, and engineered systems.

In the coming decades, microbiologists will be critical to understanding the microbes in these systems, controlling them, and putting them to work for us. The Microbiology Graduate Program educates students broadly in microbiology, so that you will be equipped to address any of these grand challenges. Whether you work on nutrient cycles, human disease, or microbial process engineering, you will learn the laboratory, analytical, and bioinformatic tools needed to ask and answer questions of global importance.

When you join the Microbiology Graduate Program at UD, you will join a vibrant community of microbiologists with faculty in 14 departments across campus, including Biology, Marine Science and Policy, Geology, Plant and Soil Sciences, Civil and Environmental Engineering. This breadth gives students access to an extensive range of equipment, collaborators, and expertise. Regardless of the home department, our goal is to characterize the microbes in different environments – from the human body to water to soil and sediment – and understand how they work, so that we can put them to work for us.

We hope you will join us!

Laura Desimone Headshot

Julia Maresca

Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering Co-Director, Microbiology Graduate Program
 3028314391

Wendy Feller

Program Manager
Nicole Donofrio Headshot

Nicole Donofrio

Professor of Pathology Co-Director, Microbiology Graduate Program
 3028311372
Name/Profile Department Email
Ryan Arsenault Animal and Food Science rja@udel.edu
Harsh Bais Plant and Soil Science hbais@udel.edu
Amy Biddle Animal and Food Science asbiddle@udel.edu
Nicole Donofrio Plant and Soil Science ndonof@udel.edu
Jeff Fuhrman Plant and Soil Science fuhrmann@udel.edu
Yan Jin Plant and Soil Science yjin@udel.edu
Rolf Joerger Animal and Food Science rjoerger@udel.edu
Kalmia Kniel Animal and Food Science kniel@udel.edu
Alyssa Koehler Plant and Soil Science akoehler@udel.edu
Limin Kung Jr. Animal and Food Science lksilage@udel.edu
Robin Morgan Biological Science, Animal and Food Science morgan@udel.edu
Mark Parcells Animal and Food Science parcells@udel.edu
Angelia Seyfferth Plant and Soil Science angelias@udel.edu
Eric Wommack Plant and Soil Science wommack@dbi.udel.edu

 

Name/Profile Department Email
Fidelma Boyd Biological Science fboyd@udel.edu
Catherine Grimes Chemistry and Biochemistry cgrimes@udel.edu
Ramona Neuneubel Biological Science neunr@udel.edu
Sharon Rozovsky Chemistry and Biochemistry rozovsky@udel.edu
Karl Schmitz Biological Science schmitzk@udel.edu
Molly Sutherland Biological Science msuther@udel.edu
Name/Profile Department Email
Daniel Cha Civil and Environmental Engineering cha@udel.edu
Pei Chiu Civil and Environmental Engineering pei@udel.edu
Kelvin Lee Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering khl@udel.edu
Julie Maresca Civil and Environmental Engineering
jmaresca@udel.edu
Terry Papoutsakis Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering epaps@udel.edu
Shawn Polson Computer and Information Sciences polson@dbi.udel.edu
Cathy Wu Computer and Information Sciences wuc@udel.edu
Ryan Zurakowski Electrical and Computer ryanz@udel.edu
Name/Profile Department Email
Mona Batish Medical and Molecular Sciences batish@udel.edu
Sam Biswas Medical and Molecular Sciences biswassb@udel.edu
Denene Lofland Medical and Molecular Sciences dlofland@udel.edu
Vijay Parashar Medical and Molecular Sciences parashar@udel.edu