Interdisciplinary Evaluation Science: Faculty and Staff

The Master of Science (MS) in Interdisciplinary Evaluation Science is an interdisciplinary program housed in the Graduate College. Faculty members involved with the program are listed below. 

Sue Giancola

Program Director
 302-831-4434

Sue Giancola is Senior Associate Director at the Center for Research in Education and Social Policy (CRESP) at the University of Delaware. She has a PhD from the University of Pennsylvania in policy research, evaluation, and measurement. She also has degrees from the University of Virginia and Pennsylvania State University in engineering and management, respectively. She has 25 years of experience as an evaluator in both academia and private business, evaluating programs in education, human services, engineering, and health. Her career has focused on leveraging quality improvement and engineering design principles to improve program and policy evaluation. Her current research focuses on developing methodological processes to embed evaluation into programs, foster continuous improvement, base programmatic decisions on reliable and valid information, and properly interpret effectiveness and impact. Dr. Giancola has evaluated projects funded through the NIH, NSF, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and U.S. Department of Education, as well as local, state, and foundation-funded programs. She is the author of Program Evaluation: Embedding Evaluation into Program Design and Development, available through SAGE publications, as well as Evaluation Matters, a training guide prepared for the US Department of Education. Dr Giancola is a member of the American Evaluation Association, American Educational Research Association, and Association for Clinical and Translational Science, and leads the National CTR Evaluators Network.

Name/Profile Department Email
Laura Desimone Evaluation Science, Education and Social Policy, SOE, Biden (secondary) lauramd@udel.edu
Sue Giancola Evaluation Science, CRESP giancola@udel.edu
Gail Headley Mixed Methods Research, CRESP gheadley@udel.edu
Gary Henry Evaluation Science, Education and Social Policy, HDFS, Biden (secondary) cehd-dean@udel.edu
Jason Hustedt Research Design, Early Childhood, HDFS jhustedt@udel.edu
Allison Karpyn Evaluation Science, Education and Social Policy, CRESP, HDFS karpyn@udel.edu
Jeff Klein Quantitative Methods, CRESP kleinjef@udel.edu
Henry May Quantitative Methods, CRESP, SOE hmay@udel.edu
Katrina Morrison Qualitative Methods, CRESP katrinam@udel.edu
Ken Shores Survey Research, Education and Social Policy, SOE kshores@udel.edu
Bryan VanGronigen Qualitative Methods, Education and Social Policy, SOE bvg@udel.edu

 

Name/Profile Department Email
Martin Heintzelman Applied Statistics mheintze@udel.edu
Thomas Ilvento Applied Statistics ilvento@udel.edu
Name/Profile Department Email
Stephen Metraux Public Policy metraux@udel.edu
Andrea Pierce Public Policy alpierce@udel.edu
Sarah Bruch Public Policy skbruch@udel.edu
Tibor Toth Public Policy tibi@udel.edu
Joseph Trainor Public Policy jtrainor@udel.edu

 

Name/Profile Department Email
Cecilia Arighi Bioinformatics Data Science arighi@udel.edu
Karen Hoober Bioinformatics Data Science khoober@udel.edu
Shawn Polson Bioinformatics Data Science polson@udel.edu
Cathy Wu Bioinformatics Data Science wuc@udel.edu

 

Name/Profile Department Email
Tia Barnes Early Childhood, Social-Emotional Development tnbarnes@udel.edu
Martha Buell Early Childhood, Education and Social Policy mjbuell@udel.edu
Jennifer Gallo-Fox Early Childhood gallofox@udel.edu
Rena Hallam Early Childhood, Education and Social Policy rhallam@udel.edu
Myae Han Early Childhood myaehan@udel.edu
Ana Whitaker Early Childhood awhit@udel.edu
Name/Profile Department Email
Jack Baroudi Business Analytics baroudi@udel.edu
Jinwei Cao MIS jcao@udel.edu
Hemant Kher Business Analytics kher@udel.edu
Junbo Son Business Analytics junboson@udel.edu
Shabbir Wardhawala Business Analytics shab@udel.edu

 

Name/Profile Department Email
Lauren Bailes Education and Social Policy lbailes@udel.edu
Janine de Novais Qualitative Methods, Equity and Diversity denovais@udel.edu
Rosalie Rolon-Dow Qualitative Methods, Equity and Diversity rosa@udel.edu
Florence Ran Higher Education fxran@udel.edu
Fred Hofstetter Educational Technology fth@udel.edu
Chrystalla Mouza Educational Technology cmouza@udel.edu
Teya Rutherford Educational Technology teomara@udel.edu