Department Directory

Department leadership 

Esther Biswas-Fiss headshot

Esther Biswas-Fiss, Ph.D., MB(ASCP)CM

Department Chair, Medical and Molecular Sciences
Professor
Director, Graduate Programs in Medical Sciences
Director, Programs in Applied Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
Program Advisor, Molecular Diagnostics Minor and Certificate
 302-831-2912

Office Location:
305J Willard Hall

Full Profile >

Department Faculty Members 

Mona Batish headshot

Mona Batish, PhD

Assistant Professor
 302-831-8591

232 Delaware Biotechnology Institute

Full Profile >

Donald C. Lehman Headshot

Donald C. Lehman, Ed.D., MLS (ASCP) CM, SM(NRCM)

Professor
 302-831-8432

305H Willard Hall

Full Profile >

Paula A. Melancon Headshot

Paula A. Melancon, M. Ed., MT(ASCP)

Instructor
Clinical Education Coordinator
 302-831-0623

305F Willard Hall

Full Profile >

Sam Biswas headshot

Sam Biswas, PhD

Professor
 302-831-3367

301B Willard hall

Full Profile >

Huey-Jen Lin headshot

Huey-Jen Lin, Ph.D., MT(ASCP)

Associate Professor
 302-831-7576

303B Willard Hall

Full Profile >

Vijay Parashar Headshot

Vijay Parashar, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
 302-831-4552

231 Delaware Biotechnology Institute

Full Profile >

Academic Program Directors

Leslie M. Allshouse Headshot

Leslie M. Allshouse, M.Ed., M.B.A., MLS (ASCP)CM

Department Vice Chair
Senior Instructor
Director, Medical Laboratory Science
Program Advisor, Post Baccalaureate Categorical Certificate in MLS
CHS Director of Curriculum
 302-831-2755

305E Willard Hall

Full Profile >

Denene Lofland Headshot

Denene Lofland, Ph.D., FACSc, MT(ASCP)

Associate Professor
Director, Medical Diagnostics
Program Advisor, Medical Diagnostics Minor
Affiliated Faculty, Plant & Soil Sciences Microbiology Graduate Program
 302-831-8737

303C Willard Hall

Full Profile >

Virginia Hughes Headshot

Virginia Hughes, Ph.D., MLS (ASCP)CM, SBB

Associate Professor
Director, Medical Diagnostics (Pre-PA)
 302-831-3865

303D Willard Hall

Full Profile >

Name Title Email Phone Office
Jodi Allen Administrative Assistant joallen@udel.edu 302-831-8400 305 Willard Hall
Susan Coffing Academic Advisor
Program Advisor, Genetic Counseling Minor
scoffing@udel.edu 302-831-8804 305F Willard Hall
Diana C. Levering Academic Support Coordinator levering@udel.edu 302-831-2849 305K Willard Hall
Kyle Protack Laboratory Coordinator kprotack@udel.edu 302-831-4212 305D Willard Hall
Heather A. Walters Laboratory Coordinator hwalters@udel.edu 302-831-4212 305D Willard Hall
Name Title Email
Anna P. Ciulla, MCC, MLS (ASCP)SC, CC(NRCC) Professor Emeritus aciulla@udel.edu
Raelene Maser, PhD, MT(ASCP) Professor Emeritus rmaser@udel.edu
Mary Ann McLane, PhD, MLS(ASCP)CM Professor Emeritus mclane@udel.edu
Name Title Email
Karen R. Brinker, M. Ed., MLS (ASCP)CM Adjunct/Supplemental Faculty
University of Delaware
kcchem@udel.edu
Zohra Ali-Khan Catts, M.S. LCGC Director, Genetic Counseling Services
ChristianaCare
Co-Director, Masters in Human Genetics and Genetic Counseling
Thomas Jefferson University
zcatts@udel.edu
Sheau Ching Chai Assistant Professor
Behavioral Health and Nutrition
University of Delaware
scchai@udel.edu
Eric Chandler, MLS (ASCP) Medical Laboratory Scientist echandl@udel.edu
Mallory Chimmel, MSFS DNA Analyst
The Armed Forces DNA Identification Laboratory
mchmiel@udel.edu
Jasmine Fuentes, MLS (ASCLS) Technical Service Technician
Integrated Chemistry In-Vitro Diagnostics
Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics Inc.
jfuentes@udel.edu
Lindsey M. Hardy, MHA, MLS (ASCP) Medical Laboratory Scientist
ChristianaCare, Department of Microbiology
lhardy@udel.edu
Marie Kuczmarski Professor
Behavioral Health and Nutrition
University of Delaware
mfk@udel.edu
Katy Koluch, MLS (ASCP)CM Medical Laboratory Scientist
Nemours/Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children
kkoluch@udel.edu
Scott Kleckner, MS Corporate Security
Global Investment and Technology Firm
American Society for Industrial Security
National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians
Association of Retired Delaware State Police
kleckner@udel.edu
Eric B. Kmiec, Ph.D. Director, Gene Editing Institute
Helen F. Graham Cancer Center & Research Institute
ChristianaCare
ebkmiec@udel.edu
Danyella Lopez-Juarez, MLS (ASCP) Medical Laboratory Scientist I
ChristianaCare Blood Bank
danyell@udel.edu
Christine Miller, B.S., MLS (ASCP)CM Adjunct/Supplemental Faculty
University of Delaware
chmiller@udel.edu
Michael Monge, MLS (ASCP) Medical Laboratory Scientist II
ChristianaCare Department of Pathology
monge@udel.edu
Kawal Jeet Narula, PhD Adjunct Faculty
Medical and Molecular Sciences
University of Delaware
knarula@udel.edu
Beth Ranauto, MT(ASCP) Adjunct Microbiology Instructor
University of Delaware and Cecil College
branauto@udel.edu
Vipul Shah, MBA;MLS(ASCP);DLM(ASCP)CM Clinical Labs, Division Manager
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Professional Medical Technologist, Penn Medicine
Adjust Faculty, University of Delaware
shahv@udel.edu
Jessica Smith, M.S., D-ABFT-FT Chief Forensic Toxicologist
State of Delaware Division of Forensic Science
smithox@udel.edu
Richard A. West, M.S. Flow Cytometry Core Manager/Associate Scientist
Delaware Biotechnology Institute
University of Delaware
richwest@udel.edu