4-H Youth Development

Outstanding Leaders Receive Joy Sparks Spirit of 4-H Awards

The Joy Sparks Spirit of 4-H Award recognizes outstanding individuals who exhibit enthusiasm, dedication and exemplify 4-H spirit and values. The award is named in memory of our very special friend and previous 4-H state program leader of the Delaware 4-H Program for over 35 years, Joy Sparks.

The following outstanding award recipients were recognized at their county's annual 4-H Achievement Banquets:

New Castle County

The New Castle County recipient of the Joy Sparks Spirit of 4-H Award for 2019 is Kim Klair.

Kim is the Organizational Leader of the Porter Gang 4-H Club and longtime President of the New Castle County Leaders Association. Kim has provided outstanding leadership for this group and the county program while working on many committees, and with many aspects of the Delaware 4-H Program. 

Throughout her 4-H life as a club member, leader and volunteer, Kim enjoys seeing youth in 4-H learn, grow and do well.  She has been an invaluable asset to Delaware 4-H.  She is a person who is kind, caring and willing to do whatever is needed.

Kim was honored to receive this award sponsored and presented by Don Sparks at the New Castle County Achievement Event on October 6th. She is pictured above with daughters Alex Swan and Kaitlin Klair.

Kent County

In Kent County, the Joy Sparks Spirit of 4-H award was awarded to Connie Harrington.

Among the accolades were her role as a judge in many 4-H activities, oversight of the state camp scholarship awards and the Michael Everline Memorial Leadership Award.

A 4-H alumna, Harrington was a 4-H project leader with the Harrington Sunshine 4-H Club, and served as a member of the Kent County Cooperative Extension Advisory Board. An active member of the 4-H Links, she currently serves as president of that alumni organization.

Sussex County

Jacalyn Bradley of Seaford, was honored with the The Joy Sparks Spirit of 4-H Award in Sussex County. This award is given in memory of Joy G. Sparks, past State 4-H Program Leader. Joy was a lifelong 4-H member who embodied what it meant to be a 4-H’er and used her Head, Heart, Hands and Health to better herself and her community.

Jacalyn Bradley was chosen based on her contributions to the 4-H program and keeping Joy’s Spirit of 4-H alive. 

Jacalyn has had many leadership roles, first as a 4-H member, then a member of the Sussex County Order of Links.  She became a club leader in 2001 and in 2009, became the organizational leader of the Seaford Blue Jays 4-H Club.  Jacalyn co-led this club for many years with her mother, Barbara Taylor, who gave so much to Delaware 4-H and was a 2011 recipient of the Joy Sparks Award!  Jacalyn has a true love for 4-H and a great interest in youth.  She has a warm smile and caring personality which make her a wonderful club leader. Jacalyn always strives to "Make the Best Better!"

Follow us on social