Logo Image
Graduate College dean candidates
Candidates for the first dean of UD's Graduate College are (from left) David Wilson, Louis Rossi, Delphis Levia and Maria Aristigueta.

Four Grad College dean candidates announced

Presentations scheduled on vision, plans for the college

As part of the internal search for the first dean of the University of Delaware’s Graduate College, four candidates for the position will each participate in a town hall, scheduled via Zoom July 7-10.

The four candidates and the dates of their presentations are:

  • Louis Rossi, professor and chair of the Department of Mathematical Sciences, Tuesday, July 7;
  • David Wilson, senior associate dean for social sciences in the College of Arts and Sciences and professor of political science and international relations, Wednesday, July 8;
  • Maria Aristigueta, director of the Joseph R. Biden, Jr. School of Public Policy and Administration and the Charles P. Messick Chair in Public Administration, Thursday, July 9; and
  • Delphis Levia, professor and chair of the Department of Geography and Spatial Sciences, Friday, July 10.

The virtual town hall meetings will be held from 10:15-11:15 a.m., and those wishing to participate must register in advance. Registration information and additional information about each of the candidates are available on the dean search website. Members of the University community will be able to login using their UDelNet ID. Each town hall will be recorded and posted to the website approximately 24 hours after the presentation.

Feedback on each candidate will be invited via a form on the website following each interview date.

The University’s Graduate College was established July 1, 2019, in recognition of the impact of graduate study on overall scholarship and discovery. It is intended to create opportunities for University-wide partnerships, support curriculum innovation, facilitate high-value interdisciplinary programs and provide centralized support for graduate student services and recruitment.

The dean will be an integral member of the University’s academic leadership team, working closely with senior administrators and the deans of the other seven colleges to support and elevate graduate education at the University.

The search advisory committee is being cochaired by Abraham (Bramie) Lenhoff, Allan P. Colburn Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and Chrystalla Mouza, Distinguished Professor in Teacher Education and director of the School of Education.

Other members include:

  • Estella Atekwana, dean of the College of Earth, Ocean and Environment;
  • Michael Bush, doctoral student in mathematics and past president of the Graduate Student Association;
  • Kathleen Matt, dean of the College of Health Sciences;
  • Shailen Mishra, postdoctoral researcher in the Department of English;
  • Rodney Morrison, vice president for enrollment management;
  • Jill Panté, director of the Lerner Career Services Center;
  • Mark Parcells, professor of animal and food sciences;
  • Maria Purciello, associate professor of music;
  • Mary Remmler, vice president for strategic planning and analysis
  • José-Luis Riera, vice president for student life;
  • Charlie Riordan, vice president for research, scholarship and innovation;
  • Matthew Robinson, professor of hospitality business management and past president of the Faculty Senate;
  • Kami Silk, professor and chairperson of the Department of Communication;
  • Donald Watson, professor of chemistry and biochemistry; and
  • Cathy Wu, Unidel Edward G. Jefferson Chair in Engineering and Computer Sciences.

More Campus & Community Stories

See More Stories

Contact Us

Have a UDaily story idea?

Contact us at ocm@udel.edu

Members of the press

Contact us at 302-831-NEWS or visit the Media Relations website