Logo Image
Leland Barker selected as 2019 Office of the Year by Newark Rotary
Cpl. Leland Barker (center) was selected as 2019 Officer of the Year for the Rotary Club of Newark Police Honoree Program. He is congratulated here by UDPD Lt. Hugh Ferrill (left) and Chief Patrick Ogden. See HONORS.

For the Record

Photo courtesy of UD Police

University community reports recent publications, new assignments, honors

For the Record provides information about recent professional activities and achievements of University of Delaware faculty, staff, students and alumni.

Recent presentations, new assignments and publications include the following:

New assignments

Frank A. Newton, associate dean for administration and operations in the College of Health Sciences, has been named director of Newark Charter School, effective July 1. Newton has served in administrative and leadership positions in a variety of academic units throughout 25 years at UD, including acting vice president and chief of staff for former Acting President Nancy Targett and assistant dean in the College of Earth, Ocean and Environment. Newark Charter serves 2,400 students from kindergarten through high school and 230 staff.


Rudi Matthee, John and Dorothy Munroe Distinguished Professor of History, had his 2012 monograph, Persia in Crisis: The Decline of the Safavids and the Fall of Isfahan, translated into Persian a third time, under the title Iran dar bohran: Inhetat-e Safaviya va soqut-eIsfahan (Tehran: Amir Kabir, 2019). His 2005 study, The Pursuit of Pleasure: Drugs and Stimulants in Iranian History, 1500-1900, came out in Persian as well, as Tafrihat-e Iraniyan: Moskerat va mokhaderat az Safaviya ta Qajariya (Tehran: Namak, 2019). The Iranian Embassy in London, meanwhile, selected his co-edited volume, Russians in Iran: Diplomacy and Power in the Qajar Era and Beyond(2018), as one of last year’s best books on Iran.


Cpl. Leland Barker of University of Delaware Police was selected as 2019 Officer of the Year for the Rotary Club of Newark Police Honoree Program. A former National Park ranger, Barker is a proactive officer on duty and always seeks training opportunities to better himself and the department. In addition to his role as a UDPD officer, he is active in his church in Middletown and has taken over the UD Toys for Tots campaign, which involves handling, scheduling and communicating both while on and off duty. Barker is also a member of the UD-EMT program. During the 2018 holiday break, while off duty and on vacation, he performed CPR on a person aboard an airplane who went into cardiac arrest, saving that person’s life. He was selected for this award as a result of that and other efforts.

Farley Grubb, professor of economics, was awarded the Brewster Prize for the best faculty paper presented at the North Carolina Association of Historians annual conference. The paper presented was “Colonial North Carolina’s Paper Money Regime, 1712-1774: Reconstructing the Evidence,” coauthored with Cory Cutsail, UD graduate student in economics.

Susan Conaty-Buck, assistant professor in the School of Nursing, is among 35 nursing faculty nationwide who were selected by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing for its AACN-Apple Digital Innovation Bootcamp next month in Austin. This initiative is intended to provide new opportunities for nursing faculty to leverage technology to enhance learning in the classroom, laboratory, online and in clinical settings. Conaty-Buck, who is also president of the Delaware Coalition of Nurse Practitioners, was selected as a 2019 Fellow of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners earlier this spring. She was selected for her work advocating for recognition of nurse practitioners as primary care providers and for encouraging the use of healthcare informatics by nurse practitioners to improve patient care.

The International Council on Hotel, Restaurant, and Institutional Education (CHRIE) has announced that the paper “The Impact of Booking Window Shifts on Hotel Revenue Management Forecasting” has been awarded a Best Paper designation for the 2019 International CHRIE Conference being held this summer. The paper was coauthored by Tim Webb, assistant professor of hospitality business management, and Zvi Schwartz, chairperson and professor of hospitality business management in the Lerner College of Business and Economics, with Zheng Xiang and Manisha Singal, both associate professors at Virginia Tech's Department of Hospitality and Tourism Management.

Janice Selekman, professor in the School of Nursing, will receive two national awards in June from the National Association of School Nurses. Selekman will be this year's recipient of the Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes an individual for ongoing support and contributions to the organization, school nursing and school health services. She and her coeditors also will receive the 2019 President's Recognition Award for their work on the third edition of School Nursing: A Comprehensive Text. Selekman will be honored on June 28 in Denver during the NASN awards celebration.


To submit information for inclusion in For the Record, write to ocm@udel.edu and include “For the Record” in the subject line.

Contact Us

Have a UDaily story idea?

Contact us at ocm@udel.edu

Members of the press

Contact us at 302-831-NEWS or visit the Media Relations website