Logo Image

Faculty promotions

Photo by

Board of Trustees approves faculty promotions

The University of Delaware Board of Trustees approved the promotions of 61 faculty members and emeritus status for 15 professors at its spring meeting on May 14.

During her report at the meeting, Provost Robin Morgan spoke about the promoted faculty members, congratulating them and concluding, “You are our future. Your work will define what we become and how we impact UD, the region we serve and the greater world beyond our borders.”

Promoted to the rank of professor with tenure were Deborah Bieler, English; Sebastian Cioaba, mathematical sciences; John D’Arcy, accounting and management information systems; Nicole Donofrio, plant and soil sciences; Matthew Doty, materials science and engineering; Catherine Grimes, chemistry and biochemistry Arthi Jayaraman, chemical and biomolecular engineering; Xiaoxia Lou, finance; Christopher Meehan, civil and environmental engineering; Melissa Melby, anthropology; Holly Michael, Unidel Fraser Russell Career Development Chair in Environmental Geological Sciences; Jingmei Qiu, mathematical sciences; Cynthia Schmidt-Cruz, languages, literatures and cultures; Alexander Selimov, languages, literatures and cultures; Amy Shober, plant and soil sciences; Fei Xie, finance; and Zhihao Zhuang, chemistry and biochemistry.

Donald Lehman, medical and molecular sciences, was promoted to professor without tenure.

Promoted to the rank of associate professor with tenure were Noël Archambeault, music; Benjamin Bagozzi, political science and international relations; James Berry, economics; Mary Bowen, School of Nursing; Kelly Cobb, fashion and apparel studies; Danielle Dixson, School of Marine Science and Policy; Kyle Emich, business administration; Joseph Feser, mechanical engineering; Jennifer Gallo-Fox, human development and family sciences; Philip Gentry, music; Melissa Gordon, human development and family sciences; Jason Hill, art history; Jessica Horton, art history; Anderson Janotti, materials science and engineering; Constanze Liaw, mathematical sciences; Ji Kyung Park, business administration; Adrian Pasquarella, School of Education; Christopher Price, biomedical engineering; Jaclyn Schwarz, psychological and brain sciences; Dustin Sleesman, business administration; Kyong-Min Son, political science and international relations; Jeremy Tobacman, economics; Timothy Vickery, psychological and brain sciences; Adam Wallace, geological sciences; Bingjun Xu, chemical and biomolecular engineering; Yuanchong Wang, history; and Megan Wenner, kinesiology and applied physiology.

Promoted to the rank of associate professor without tenure were Julia Bayuk, business administration; Dawn Berk, mathematical sciences; Heather Doty, mechanical engineering; Jessica Edwards, English; Timothy Fowles, psychological and brain sciences; Mark Isaacs, plant and soil sciences; Meghan McGuire, English; Jennifer Naccarelli Reese, women and gender studies; Andrew Novocin, electrical and computer engineering; and Scott Stevens, English Language Institute.

Recommended for tenure were Allison Karpyn, associate professor of human development and family sciences, and Julie McGee, associate professor of Africana studies.

The promotions are all effective Sept. 1.

New emeriti faculty are Benigno Aguirre, professor emeritus of sociology and criminal justice; Daniel Callahan, professor emeritus of history; Vicki Cassman, professor emerita of art conservation; Peter Cole, professor emeritus of linguistics and cognitive science; Patricia DeLeon, Trustees’ Distinguished Professor Emerita of Biological Sciences; Robert Dyer, professor emeritus of animal and food sciences; Steven Hastings, professor emeritus of applied economics and statistics; Gabriella Hermon, professor emerita of linguistics and cognitive science; Kevin Kerrane, professor emeritus of English; David Kuhlman, professor emeritus of psychological and brain sciences; Errol Lloyd, professor emeritus of computer and information sciences; Cathy Matson, Richards Chair Emerita of American History; Lidia Rejto, professor emerita of applied economics and statistics; Stanley Sandler, H.B. du Pont Chair Emeritus of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; and Timothy Targett, professor emeritus in the School of Marine Science and Policy.

More Campus & Community Stories

See More Stories

Contact Us

Have a UDaily story idea?

Contact us at ocm@udel.edu

Members of the press

Contact us at 302-831-NEWS or visit the Media Relations website