Logo Image

Faculty promotions

Trustees approve faculty promotions

The University of Delaware Board of Trustees approved the promotions of 61 faculty members, as well as emeritus status for six professors at its spring meeting on May 15.

Twenty-six faculty members were promoted to professor, one was promoted to professor without tenure, 18 to associate professor with tenure, 11 to associate professor without tenure and three to assistant professor without tenure. In addition, two individuals were granted tenure. All appointments are effective Sept. 1.

Promoted to professor were Cristina Archer and Andreas Muenchow, both School of Marine Science and Policy; Carlos Asarta, economics; Jules Bruck, plant and soil sciences; David Coker and Laura Eisenman, both School of Education; Xiao Fang, Thomas Vermeer and Jiannan Wang, all accounting and management information systems; Colette Gaiter and Rene Marquez, both art and design; Keith Goossen, electrical and computer engineering; Carla Guerron-Montero, anthropology; Philippe Guyenne, mathematical sciences; Myae Han, human development and family sciences; Jamie Holder, physics and astronomy; Hemant Kher and Wendy Smith, both business administration; Anna Klintsova, psychological and brain sciences; Michael O’Neal, geological sciences; Darcy Reisman, physical therapy; Hagit Shatkay, computer and information sciences; Millicent Sullivan, chemical and biomolecular engineering; Bert Tanner, mechanical engineering; Bruce Tychinski, music; and Joshua Zide, materials science and engineering.

Jill Neitzel, anthropology, was promoted to professor without tenure.

Named associate professors with tenure were Zara Anishanslin, history; Ann Bell, sociology and criminal justice; Jesus Botello, languages, literatures and cultures; Kara Ellerby and Daniel Kinderman, both political science and international relations; Chad Forbes and Jared Medina, both psychological and brain sciences; Asia Friedman, sociology and criminal justice; April Kloxin, chemical and biomolecular engineering; Hong Li, animal and food sciences; Sheng Lu, fashion and apparel studies; Jungeun Park, mathematical sciences; Freda Patterson, behavioral health and nutrition; Maria Purciello, music; Sara Rauscher, geography; Angelia Seyfferth, plant and soil sciences; Karin Silbernagel, physical therapy; and Jessica Warren, geological sciences.

Promoted to associate professor without tenure were Erin Brannick, animal and food sciences; Amanda Bullough, business administration; Joshua Enszer, chemical and biomolecular engineering; Dawn Fallik, English; Hannah Kim, history; Agnes Ly, psychological and brain sciences; Kyle McCarthy, entomology and wildlife ecology; Brianna Newland, hospitality business management; Victor Perez, sociology and criminal justice; William Rose, kinesiology and applied physiology; and Lynn Worden, human development and family science.

Promoted to assistant professor without tenure were Michael Fields, Sarah Petersen and Philip Rice, all English Language Institute.

Recommended for tenure were Erik Ervin, plant and soil sciences; and Jingmei Qiu, mathematical sciences.

Emeritus status was approved for Diane Herson, Jane Noble-Harvey and Florence Schmieg, all associate professors emeriti of biological sciences; and Judith Hough-Goldstein, Charles Mason and William F. Ritter, all professors emeriti of entomology and wildlife ecology.

The resolution approving these actions noted that the board “wishes to acknowledge and celebrate faculty excellence” and congratulated each of the individuals.

More Campus & Community Stories

See More Stories

Contact Us

Have a UDaily story idea?

Contact us at ocm@udel.edu

Members of the press

Contact us at 302-831-NEWS or visit the Media Relations website