Logo Image
Campus beauty

Faculty promotions announced

Photo by Evan Krape

Trustees approve 87 faculty promotions

The University of Delaware Board of Trustees approved the promotions of 87 faculty members at its semiannual meeting on May 14.

Recommended for named professorships were

  • Kelvin Fu, Terri Connor Kelly and John Kelly Career Development Professor of Mechanical Engineering;
  • Arthi Jayaraman, Centennial Term Professor for Excellence in Research and Education, in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering;
  • April Kloxin, Thomas and Kipp Gutshall Development Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; and
  • Weisong Shi, Alumni Distinguished Professor in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences.

Promoted to the rank of professor were 20 associate professors who had already been granted tenure:

  • Panagiotis Artemiadis, mechanical engineering;
  • Benjamin Bagozzi, political science and international relations;
  • Wayne Batchis, political science and international relations;
  • Ann Bell, sociology and criminal justice;
  • Jesus Botello, languages, literatures and cultures;
  • Kathleen Brewer-Smyth, School of Nursing;
  • Sarah Dodson-Robinson, physics and astronomy;
  • Pak-Wing Fok, mathematical sciences;
  • Monique Head, civil and environmental engineering;
  • Jason Hustedt, human development and family sciences;
  • Constanze Liaw, mathematical sciences;
  • Sheng Lu, fashion and apparel studies;
  • Edward Lyman, physics and astronomy;
  • Mokshay Madiman, mathematical sciences;
  • Henry May, School of Education;
  • Vishal Saxena, electrical and computer engineering;
  • Eileen Smitheimer, theatre and dance
  • Jia Song, biological sciences
  • Jillian Trabulsi, health behavior and nutrition sciences; and
  • Jennifer Van Horn, art history.

Promoted from associate professor to professor, without tenure, were five individuals: 

  • Deborah Delaney, entomology and wildlife ecology;
  • Virginia Hughes, medical and molecular sciences;
  • Richard Martin, electrical and computer engineering;
  • Kyle McCarthy, entomology and wildlife ecology; and
  • Stephen Metraux, Biden School of Public Policy and Administration.

Thirty-four assistant professors were promoted to the rank of associate professor with tenure:

  • Mark Adams, School of Music;
  • Christina Barbieri, School of Education;
  • Anna Birkenbach, School of Marine Science and Policy;
  • Roderick Carey, human development and family sciences;
  • Aaron Carlisle, School of Marine Science and Policy;
  • John Clem, physics and astronomy;
  • Amanda Convery, accounting and management information systems;
  • Francisco Costa, economics;
  • Yendelela Cuffee, epidemiology program;
  • Viet Dinh, English;
  • Jing Gao, geography and spatial sciences;
  • Jing He, accounting and management information systems;
  • Laura Helton, English;
  • Cresean Hughes, sociology and criminal justice;
  • Julie Klinger, geography and spatial sciences;
  • Alyssa Koehler, plant and soil sciences;
  • Hsin-Wen Lee, philosophy;
  • Jing Ma, hospitality and sport business management;
  • Saleem Mistry, business administration;
  • Pinki Mondal, geography and spatial sciences;
  • Mark Nejad, civil and environmental engineering;
  • Dael Norwood, history;
  • Vijay Parashar, medical and molecular sciences;
  • Rebecca Pompon, communication sciences and disorders;
  • Kisha Porcher, English;
  • James Rising, School of Marine Science and Policy;
  • Kenneth Shores, School of Education;
  • Swati Singh, electrical and computer engineering;
  • Jaclyn Sions, physical therapy;
  • Jessica Tanis, biological sciences;
  • Aaron Terry, art and design;
  • Guangmo Tong, computer and information sciences;
  • Timothy Webb, hospitality and sport business management; and
  • Yuping Zeng, electrical and computer engineering.

Twenty-one assistant professors were promoted to associate professor, without tenure:

  • Adil Bentahar, English Language Institute;
  • Miles Brown, School of Music;
  • Carlton Cooper, biological sciences;
  • Stefanie DeVito, biological sciences;
  • Jennifer Follett, English;
  • Laura Gasiorowski, business administration;
  • Sheldon Hewlett, materials science and engineering;
  • Jarrod Miller, plant and soil sciences;
  • Barbara Moltchanov, languages, literatures and cultures;
  • Ri Na, civil and environmental engineering;
  • Adebanjo Oriade, physics and astronomy;
  • Keerthi Potluri, English;
  • Stephanie Raible, business administration;
  • Saskia Richter, kinesiology and applied physiology;
  • Alisha Rovner, health behavior and nutrition sciences;
  • Kimberly Schroeder, theatre and dance;
  • John Stocker, finance;
  • Brad Thompson, Associate in Arts Program;
  • Christopher Trimby, biological sciences;
  • Matthew Willis, Associate in Arts Program; and
  • Polly Zavadivker, history.

Two individuals with the rank of professor were awarded tenure:

  • Jennifer Earl, sociology and criminal justice; and
  • Amanda Seidl, communication sciences and disorders.

Xu Yuan, computer and information sciences, was awarded tenure at the rank of associate professor, effective Nov. 30, 2023.

All other appointments are effective Sept. 1, 2024.

More Campus & Community Stories

See More Stories

Contact Us

Have a UDaily story idea?

Contact us at ocm@udel.edu

Members of the press

Contact us at 302-831-NEWS or visit the Media Relations website