Logo Image

For the Record

University community reports recent grants, presentations, honors

For the Record provides information about recent professional activities and honors of University of Delaware faculty, staff, students and alumni.

Recent grants, presentations and honors include the following:


Kenneth Shores, assistant professor, Henry May, associate professor, and Elizabeth Farley-Ripple, associate professor, all in the School of Education (SOE), have received a new, nearly $1 million dollar grant from the Institute of Education Sciences to study the outcomes of high school career and technical education (CTE) programs. In partnership with the Delaware Department of Education, the UD team will examine variability in participation rates among student subgroups in Delaware public high school CTE programs and link CTE high school participation to high school graduation, postsecondary enrollment, employment and wages. 


Margaret Stetz, Mae and Robert Carter Professor of Women's Studies and professor of humanities, gave an invited lecture, via Zoom, on April 29 at Swansea University in Wales, United Kingdom. Titled “The ‘Comfort Women’ Issue: Ongoing Conflicts and Disputed Memories," this lecture was sponsored jointly by Swansea's "Conflict, Reconstruction and Memory" faculty research group and its "Gender in Culture and Society" faculty research group. In this talk, she covered new disputes over the issue of Japan's World War II-era system of military sexual slavery that have arisen in the world of scholarship and in the South Korean courts, as well as recent works of literature, cinema and visual art that have attempted to intervene politically and to influence international public response. 


Lynnette Young Overby, professor of theatre and dance, has been nominated by President Biden to serve as a member of the National Council on the Humanities, a board of 26 distinguished private citizens that advises the chair of the National Endowment for the Humanities. Overby, who is also deputy director of UD’s Community Engagement Initiative, director of the Partnership for Arts and Culture and artistic director of the Sharing Our Legacy Dance Theatre, in 2018 received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Dance Education Organization. National Council on the Humanities members, who serve six-year terms, are appointed by the president and confirmed by the Senate.

Joan L. Brown, Elias Ahuja Chair of Spanish in the Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures, was inducted into the Order of Don Quijote by the national Spanish collegiate honorary society Sigma Delta Pi  in a special Zoom event on May 1, 2021. This honor was awarded by the leadership of Sigma Delta Pi in conjunction with the professional organization AATSP (American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese). According to the Sigma Delta Pi website, “The highest honor conferred by Sigma Delta Pi, the Order of Don Quijote, recognizes exceptional and meritorious service in the fields of Hispanic scholarship, the teaching of Spanish and the promotion of good relations between English-speaking countries and those of Spanish speech.” The AATSP executive director cited Brown’s “cutting-edge theoretical work on the canon” that has “shaped the identity and curriculum of Spanish and Latin American Studies,” as well as her pioneering scholarship on Spanish author Carmen Martín Gaite, Spanish literature by women and oral-language acquisition. The president of Sigma Delta Pi noted that “Professor Brown’s exemplary record of scholarship and professional contributions have earned her this international distinction.” Sigma Delta Pi was founded in 1919 at the University of California-Berkeley. The UD chapter was inaugurated in 1974 by the late A. Julian Valbuena, Brown’s colleague and mentor who was the first Elias Ahuja Chair of Spanish. Prof. Valbuena was inducted into the Order of Don Quijote in 1998 in recognition of his monumental contributions to the field of Hispanic studies.

Leslie F. Goldstein, Judge Hugh M. Morris Professor Emerita of Political Science, has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Law and Courts Section of the American Political Science Association. The selection committee, whose members unanimously chose Goldstein for the honor, noted that she is the coauthor of the leading textbook, now in its fourth edition, on women in American law. The committee said it was also “impressed with her wide-ranging work on American constitutionalism, enslavement and rethinking legal history, engendering law, and on the European Union.” Goldstein has served as the Law and Courts Section president and on numerous committees and editorial boards.

Erica Litke, assistant professor in the School of Education, received the 2021 Early Career Publication Award from the American Educational Research Association (AERA) Special Interest Group for Research in Mathematics Education. She received this award for her article, “The nature and quality of algebra instruction: Using a content-focused observation tool as a lens for understanding and improving instructional practice,” published in Cognition and Instruction, and was recognized at the AERA virtual ceremony in April.

Roberta Michnick Golinkoff, Unidel H. Rodney Sharp Chair and professor in the School of Education and in the departments of Psychological and Brain Sciences and Linguistics and Cognitive Science, is one of the 22 national and international scholars elected to membership in the National Academy of Education this year. The academy advances high quality education research and its use in policy and practice, and its members are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education. Golinkoff is the first member from the University of Delaware to receive this honor. 

Undergraduate students Tamara Turski, an early childhood education major, Lauren Baran, a neuroscience major, and Sarah Minacci, a biological sciences major, won first place for their poster submitted to the Delaware Neuroscience Conference, and undergraduate student Caitlyn Roche, a cognitive science major, won second place. Turski, Baran, Minacci and Roche work with Stephanie Del Tufo, assistant professor in the School of Education, in her Developmental and Aging Neuroscience Education Lab. Roche is also assisting with a research collaboration between Del Tufo and F. Sayako Earle, assistant professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders. 

The Alfred Lerner College of Business and Economics has presented the following awards to its faculty and staff: Outstanding Junior Faculty, Sabrin Beg, assistant professor of economics; Outstanding Teacher, Vincent DiFelice, senior instructor in entrepreneurship; Outstanding Faculty Scholar, Wendy Smith, professor of management; Outstanding Faculty Service, Amanda Bullough, associate professor of management; Staff Excellence in Service, Patricia Fox, administrative assistant in the Department of Finance; Staff Innovation, Maria Poole, interim chief business officer; Leon and Margaret Slocomb Professional Excellence Award, Jeff Gillespie, associate professor of accounting; Graduating MBA Students’ MBA Teaching Award, Wendy Smith, professor of management, with honorable mention for Daniel Sullivan, professor of business administration; and Students’ Choice Excellence in Teaching Award, Dee Muir, assistant professor of marketing, and Roger Coffin, director of corporate affairs and associate professor of practice.

To submit information for inclusion in For the Record, write to ocm@udel.edu and include “For the Record” in the subject line.

More Campus & Community Stories

See More Stories

Contact Us

Have a UDaily story idea?

Contact us at ocm@udel.edu

Members of the press

Contact us at 302-831-NEWS or visit the Media Relations website