Logo Image

Faculty promotions announced

Board of Trustees approves faculty promotions

The University of Delaware Board of Trustees approved the promotions of 72 faculty members and awarded emeritus status to several retiring professors at its spring meeting on June 23. All the honorees were recognized at a special virtual celebration after the board meeting.

Four faculty members were honored with named professorships: Rebecca Davis, Miller Family Endowed Early Career Professorship in History; Alison Parker, Robert H. and Lydia Richards Chair of History; George Parsons, Unidel E.I. du Pont Professor of Marine Studies; and Kristen Poole, Ned B. Allen Professor of English.

Promoted to the rank of professor were 20 associate professors who had already been granted tenure: Steven Amendum, School of Education; James Allen Anderson, School of Music; Robin Andreasen, linguistics and cognitive science; Persephone Braham, languages, literatures and cultures; David Brinley, art and design; Scott Caplan, communication; Iain Crawford, English; Deni Galileo, biological sciences; Rena Hallam, human development and family sciences; LaShanda Korley, materials science and engineering; Salil Lachke, biological sciences; Matthew Oliver, School of Marine Science and Policy; Robyn Phillips-Pendleton, art and design; Thomas Rocek, anthropology; Joel Rosenthal, chemistry and biochemistry; Tania Roth, psychological and brain sciences; Keith Schneider, psychological and brain sciences; Joseph Trainor, Joseph R. Biden, Jr. School of Public Policy and Administration; Arthur Trembanis, School of Marine Science and Policy; and Owen White, history.

Promoted from associate professor to professor, without tenure, were Anne Colwell, Associate in Arts Program; Christine Cucciarre, English; Jill Flynn, English; Eileen Grycky, School of Music; James Keegan, Associate in Arts Program; Christopher Penna, English; and Riccarda Saggese, languages, literatures and cultures.

Twenty-eight assistant professors were promoted to the rank of associate professor, with tenure: Ann Aviles, human development and family sciences; Sheau Ching Chai, behavioral health and nutrition; Jocelyn Alcántara-Garcia, art conservation; Nina David, Joseph R. Biden, Jr. School of Public Policy and Administration; Emily Day, biomedical engineering; Shanshan Ding, applied economics and statistics; Valerie Earnshaw, human development and family sciences; Jason Gleghorn, biomedical engineering; Guoquan Huang, mechanical engineering; Christopher Kloxin, materials science and engineering; Dayan Knox, psychological and brain sciences; Joseph Kuehl, mechanical engineering; Stephanie Law, materials science and engineering; Michele Lobo, physical therapy; Michael Mackenzie, behavioral health and nutrition; Isai Jess Muñoz, School of Music; Ramona Neunuebel, biological sciences; Christopher Nichols, School of Music; Veronique Petit, physics and astronomy; Douglas Rizzolo, mathematical sciences; Jennifer Saylor, School of Nursing; John Slater, biomedical engineering; Noel Swanson, philosophy; Jennifer Van Horn, art history; Shuo Wei, biological sciences; Daniel White, physical therapy; Joshua Wilson, School of Education; and Rui Zhang, computer and information sciences.

Promoted to the rank of associate professor without tenure were John Jebb, English; Earl Lee II, civil and environmental engineering; Meghan McInnis-Dominguez, languages, literatures and cultures; Jennifer Graber, School of Nursing; D. Chanele Moore, Associate in Arts Program; Oyenike Olabisi, biological sciences; Lydia Timmins, communication; and Joanna York, School of Marine Science and Policy.

Recommended for tenure were Michael Jung, associate professor of accounting and management information systems; Andreas Malikopoulos, Terri and John Kelly Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Chiara Sabina, associate professor of women and gender studies; Richard Suminski Jr., associate professor of behavioral health and nutrition; and Nir Yehuda, associate professor of accounting and management information systems.

All promotions are effective Sept. 1.

New emeriti faculty approved by the board are Frederick Adams, professor emeritus of linguistics and cognitive science; Stephen Barr, professor emeritus of physics and astronomy; David Colton, professor emeritus of mathematical sciences; Susan Hall, professor emerita of kinesiology and applied physiology; Carol Henderson, professor emerita of Africana studies and English; James Mulligan, professor emeritus of economics; Steven Peuquet, associate professor emeritus in the Joseph R. Biden, Jr. School of Public Policy and Administration; James Richards, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Health and Nursing Sciences in the Department of Kinesiology and Applied Physiology; Peter Roe, professor emeritus of anthropology; and George W. Watson, Unidel Professor Emeritus of Physics and Astronomy.

More Campus & Community Stories

See More Stories

Contact Us

Have a UDaily story idea?

Contact us at ocm@udel.edu

Members of the press

Contact us at 302-831-NEWS or visit the Media Relations website