Logo Image

Students win Horn honors

2017 Horn entrepreneurship scholarships, awards announced

Twelve University of Delaware students were honored with scholarships and awards from the Horn Program in Entrepreneurship for the 2016-17 school year. The students will be formally recognized for their achievements at an award ceremony held during the final round of Hen Hatch, UD’s premier startup competition.

Brad and Jennifer Bono Award

Erica Comber, a senior biomedical engineering major, was awarded the Brad and Jennifer Bono Award for her entrepreneurial leadership and social impact. Comber will receive a Venture Development Center (VDC) credit to further her entrepreneurial education through startup activity or a cash award.

David J. Freschman Scholarship

The David J. Freschman Scholarship was established in memory of David J. Freschman, a University of Delaware alumnus, entrepreneur and venture capitalist. Joel Amin, a sophomore University studies major and entrepreneurial studies and Spanish double minor, was selected as this year’s recipient. Amin was awarded the scholarship for demonstrating strong potential to become a successful entrepreneur and for possessing and demonstrating some of the qualities and characteristics that Mr. Freschman also possessed, such as energy, enthusiasm, financial ability and good judgment.

Elliot Foundation Scholarship

Seven students were presented with the Elliot Foundation Scholarship, which is awarded to students in the Entrepreneurship and Technology Innovation major who demonstrate financial need. Scholarships range from $2,000 to $12,000.

This year’s recipients include Avalon Greene, a junior entrepreneurship and marketing double major; Brian Mahon, a senior entrepreneurship major; Nicholas Papaleo, a senior entrepreneurship major; Diana Pugliese, a senior entrepreneurship and finance double major; Brenton Scott, a junior entrepreneurship and finance double major and advertising and business analytics double minor; Daphne Vantine, a junior entrepreneurship major and integrated design minor; and Justin Verhaaren, a junior entrepreneurship major.

2017 Horn Program Award

Zachary Jones, a senior entrepreneurship major, was awarded the 2017 Horn Program Award, which is given to a student who promises to realize a great immediate benefit from the receipt of the award. The Horn Program Award is funded by annual gifts from the faculty who teach ENTR-designated courses.

Shawn and Sheryl McCall Award for Entrepreneurship

Garry Johnson, a senior exercise science major and entrepreneurial studies minor, and Danilo Vicioso, a senior economics major and entrepreneurial studies minor, are this year’s recipients of the Shawn and Sheryl McCall Award for Entrepreneurship. Johnson and Vicioso were recognized for showing entrepreneurial promise throughout their college careers.

Both students will receive a check that is divided into a cash award, a stipend for active participation in VDC programming and VDC credit, which can be put toward participation in startup events and travel to meet with advisors and prospective customers.

About the Horn Program in Entrepreneurship

Horn Entrepreneurship ignites imaginations and empowers world changers through entrepreneurial education. The program’s offerings emphasize experiential learning, evidence-based entrepreneurship and active engagement with entrepreneurs, business leaders and members of the broader entrepreneurial ecosystem.

Participation in Horn Program courses and co-curricular activities empowers students by providing them with the knowledge, skills, connections and access to resources needed to successfully manifest innovation and thrive in a rapidly changing world.


Contact Us

Have a UDaily story idea?

Contact us at ocm@udel.edu

Members of the press

Contact us at 302-831-NEWS or visit the Media Relations website