Alison Award

The Alison Award was established in 1978 by the Board of Trustees and is bestowed annually on the faculty member who best characterizes “the scholar-schoolmaster,” as exemplified by the Rev. Dr. Francis Alison, who in 1743, founded the institution that is now the University of Delaware. His first class of students became distinguished statesmen, doctors, merchants, and scholars. Three signed the Declaration of Independence and one signed the U. S. Constitution.

Name Department Year Named Professor
Joseph Fox, Professor Chemistry & Biology 2023 Professor
Thomas S. Buchanan, Professor Mechanical Engineering & Biomedical Engineering 2022 George W. Laird Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Yan Jin, Professor Plant & Soil Sciences 2021 Edward F. and Elizabeth Goodman Rosenberg Professor of Plant and Soil Sciences
Norm Wagner, Professor Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering 2020 Unidel Robert L. Pigford Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Stuart Binder-Macleod, Professor Physical Therapy 2019 Edward L. Ratledge Professor of Physical Therapy
Debra Hess Norris, Professor Art Conservation 2018 Unidel Henry Francis du Pont Chair in Fine Arts
Patricia DeLeon, Professor Biological Sciences 2017 Trustees Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences
Mary Dozier, Professor Psychological & Brain Sciences 2016 Unidel Amy E. du Pont Chair in Child Development
Cecil Dybowski, Professor Chemistry & Biochemistry 2015 Professor
Abraham Lenhoff, Professor Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering 2014 Allan P. Colburn Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Paul Quinn, Professor Psychological & Brain Sciences 2013 Professor
Joel Best, Professor Sociology 2012 Professor
Roberta Golinkoff, Professor School of Education 2011 Unidel H. Rodney Sharp Chair
David Kirchman, Professor Marine Studies 2010 Maxwell P. & Mildred H. Harrington Professor Emeritus of Marine Studies
Lynn Snyder-Mackler, Professor Physical Therapy 2009 Alumni Distinguished Professor
Chin-Pao Huang, Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering 2008 Donald C. Phillips Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Mark Miller, Professor Political Science 2007 Emma Smith Morris Professor of Political Science & International Relations
George W. Luther III, Professor Marine Studies 2006 Maxwell P. & Mildred H. Harrington Professor of Marine Studies
George Hadjipanayis, Professor Physics & Astronomy 2005 Richard B. Murray Professor of Physics & Astronomy
Mark A. Barteau, Professor Chemical Engineering 2004 Robert L. Pigford Chair
Leo Lemay, Professor English Literature 2003 H. F. du Pont Winterthur Professor
Peter Kolchin, Professor History 2002 Henry Clay Reed Professor of History
Tsu-Wei Chou, Professor Mechanical Engineering 2001 Unidel P.S. du Pont Chair of Engineering
George Hsiao, Professor Mathematical Sciences 2000 Carl Rees Professor
John S. Boyer, Professor Marine Studies 1999 Charles P. Messick Professor Emeritus of Public Administration
Carol Hoffecker, Professor History 1998 Richards Chair Emerita of History
Donald Peters, Professor Center for Disabilities Studies 1997 Amy Rextrew Professor Emeritus of Individual & Family Studies
Donald Sparks, Professor Plant & Soil Sciences 1996 Unidel S. Hallock du Pont Chair
Frank Scarpitti, Professor Sociology 1995 Edward F. & Elizabeth Goodman Rosenberg Professor Emeritus of Sociology
John Rosenberger, Professor Animal and Food Sciences 1994 Alumni Distinguished Professor
Stanley Sandler, Professor Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering 1993 Henry Belin du Pont Chair of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Burnaby Munson, Professor Chemistry & Biochemistry 1992 C. Eugene Bennett Chair of Analytical Chemistry
John R. Mather, Professor Geography 1991 Professor
T. W. Fraser Russell, Professor Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering 1990 Allan P. Colburn Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering
Carroll E. Izard, Professor Psychological & Brain Sciences 1989 Trustees’ Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Harry Shipman, Professor Physics & Astronomy 1988 Annie Jump Cannon Professor of Physics & Astronomy
John Kraft, Professor Geological Sciences 1987 H. Fletcher Brown Professor Emeritus of Geology
Julio da Cunha, Professor Art and University Honors Program 1986 Professor
Roberta Colman, Professor Chemistry & Biochemistry 1985 Willis F. Harrington Professor Emerita of Chemistry & Biochemistry
E. Wayne Craven, Professor Art History 1984 H.F. du Pont Winterthur Professor Emeritus of Art History
Gerard Mangone, Professor Marine Studies 1983 University Research Professor of International and Maritime Law
Arthur B. Metzner, Professor Chemical Engineering 1982 H. Fletcher Brown Professor Emeritus
John A. Munroe, Professor History 1981 H. Rodney Sharp Professor Emeritus
William I. Homer, Professor Art History 1980 H. Rodney Sharp Professor Emeritus
Robert Pigford, Professor Chemical Engineering 1979 Professor