The mission of CEOE is to advance scientific knowledge of the ever-changing coupled natural and human systems for long-term sustainability by leading-edge research and effective teaching to ensure our science serves society by informing policy and engaging communities.

CEOE brings the latest advances in technology to bear on both teaching and conducting ocean, earth, and atmospheric research. We strive to educate well-rounded scientists and policy specialists with the broad vision needed to address today’s global problems.

Concerns such as climate change, globalization and migration, marine pollution, watershed degradation, energy independence and fisheries decline are at the heart of our work at CEOE. Meeting these challenges often demands expertise in several disciplines, and our curriculum and research portfolio reflect this reality.

Our distinguished faculty includes members of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the National Academy of Engineering, the National Association of Geology Teachers, the Archaeological Institute of America, Society of Exploration Geophysicists, a Presidential Faculty Fellow, a Fulbright Scholar, and several University named professors.

Learn more about the history of the college.

News & Events

Dean Estella Atekwana Interview


UD’s College of Earth, Ocean, and Environment Dean Estella Atekwana shares career experiences and vision.

Read more

CEOE Committees & Their Work

In July 2015, the Acting Dean of CEOE formed a college-level Committee on Diversity.  

The committee supports the university-wide effort to develop and implement policies that, over long time periods, will enhance the diversity on our campus and ensure we are truly a welcoming, inclusive learning community that reflects our region and country.


Committee Members

Saleem Ali, Professor, Geography and Spatial Sciences Department and CEOE ADVANCE Fellow

Eliot Atekwana, Professor, Earth Sciences Department

Estella Atekwana, Dean, College of Earth, Ocean and Environment (CEOE)

Jennifer Biddle, Associate Professor, School of Marine Science & Policy

Clara Chan, Associate Professor, Earth Sciences Department

L. Pamela Cook, UD ADVANCE, Associate Dean, College of Engineering (ex-officio)

Mark Dobbins, Business Officer, CEOE

Heather Doty, UD ADVANCE, Assistant Professor, College of Engineering (ex-officio)

Kelli Kerbawy, Assistant Dean, Graduate Services, CEOE

Delphis Levia, Department Chair, Geography and Spatial Sciences Department

George Luther, Professor, School of Marine Science & Policy and Chief Diversity Advocate

John Madsen, Department Chair, Earth Sciences Department

Madelynn Mickle, HR Manager, Human Resources (ex-officio)

Jame McCray, Delaware Sea Grant, Marine Advisory Service

Mark Moline, Director, School of Marine Science & Policy

Keeley Powell, Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Services, CEOE

Sharon Wiegner, Business Administrator, School of Marine Science & Policy

Joanna York,* Assistant Professor, School of Marine Science & Policy

*Previous Chief Diversity Advocate


Resources and More Information

University of Delaware’s Commitment to Diversity and Excellence

University of Delaware's Plan for Diversity

CEOE Diversity Goals

2017-18 CEOE Diversity Report


The Safety Committee oversees environmental health and safety for the School of Marine Science and Policy, and assists the Departments of Earth Sciences and Geography and Spatial Sciences. The committee works closely with the University of Delaware's Office of Environmental Health and Safety (EHS).


Committee Members

Dr. George W. Luther III, Chairperson (302-645-4208)
Joe Scudlark, Vice Chairperson (302-645-4300)
Bruce Campbell
Bill Fendt, EHS Representative
Chris Petrone
Suni Shah Walter
Donna Simpson
Jon Swallow
Ed Whereat
Andrew Wozniak
Timothy Bateman, Student Representative


Health and Safety Resources

CEOE is committed to collaborating with international partners to advance our joint understanding of the world. CEOE focuses on the following key strategic partnership areas internationally, although individual faculty members have research and relationships in countries around the world.

1. China - CEOE is building on its existing partnership with Xiamen University and expanding to other disciplines beyond marine science and policy.

2. Small Island Developing States (SIDS) - We are fortunate to have ties with many of these countries in the Caribbean, Indian Ocean and the Pacific, and they face unique challenges and opportunities for which CEOE research can be an asset.

3. African Continent - Building on UD's strong faculty leadership and networks in Africa and the immense challenge of environmental and social harm, this continent has a deficit of major partnerships and great potential for high impact research.


Committee Members

Saleem Ali
Estella Atekwana
Eliot Atekwana
Danielle Dixson
Pablo Huq
David Kirchman
David Legates
Del Levia
Holly Michael
Lindsay Naylor
Art Trembanis
Ed Urban
Fabrice Veron
Xiao-Hai Yan

The college is examining where and how it can best contribute and lead and where the societal need is greatest. In addressing community needs, the college is fortunate to have valuable in-house capabilities that are already engaged with Delaware’s regional communities and focus on a host of critical issues, including those related to coastal resiliency and waterfront economic sustainability (Delaware Sea Grant), water supply and management (Delaware Geological Survey), and state climatology services (Center for Environmental Monitoring and Analysis).  The three academic units and engagement arms are, therefore, well-positioned to address the increasingly complex societal problems with our legacy of fundamental and applied research and exemplary education, while continuing to explore thematic, interdisciplinary areas that engage students, scientists, stakeholders and decision makers. 

This planning process recognizes that, along with these opportunities, we have a range of in-house challenges that need to be addressed, including priorities for infrastructure upgrades across two campuses in Newark and Lewes with limited investment capital and increasing resources for expanding experiential learning opportunities for students.


Committee Members

Dean Estella Atekwana
Deputy Dean Fabrice Veron, Co-Chair
Bonnie Ram, Co-Chair
Keeley Powell
Jeremy Firestone
Saleem Ali
Jen Biddle
John Madsen
Eliot Atekwana
Art Trembanis (Resigned)
Neil Sturchio
Jon Swallow
Mark Jolly
Sue McNeil (College of Engineering)
Mark Moline, Ex Officio
Del Levia, Ex Officio



Please check back in Spring 2020 for more details on the CEOE strategic plan.