Dean’s Advisory Council

The College of Earth, Ocean and Environment (CEOE) Dean’s Advisory Council provides advice regarding the achievement of the college’s strategic objectives and helps garner resources needed to meet college goals. We gratefully acknowledge the following individuals for their service to the Advisory Council.

Lee Anderson, 70 PhD

Professor Emeritus, UD CEOE

Luis Cifuentes, 86 PhD

Vice President for Research and Dean of Graduate School, New Mexico State University

Mark Eisner, 86 MS Geology

Barton and Loguidice, D.P.C.

Tracy Connell Hancock, 90 BS Geology     

Senior Innovation Officer, Federal Government

Jeffrey Jacobs

CEO, Ensyn Corporation

Paul P. Krishna, 86 BS Geology

Sustainability Manager, ExxonMobil

Gerhard F. Kuska, 88 BA, 05 PhD

Executive Director, Mid-Atlantic Regional Association Coastal Ocean Observing System (MARACOOS)

Ralph Leon, Chairman, 85 MS

Exxon Corporation

Jennifer Luoma Pongratz, 96 BS Environmental Science

Environmental Scientist, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control

Clinton Rowe, 88 PhD

Professor and Department Chair, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Gary Schmelz, 64 PhD

Research, Environmental Education (retired)

John H. Talley, Vice-Chairman, 69 BAAS Geology

State Geologist (retired), Delaware Geological Survey

Evan Ward, 89 PhD

Professor, University of Connecticut

Steve Weisberg, 81 PhD

Executive Director, Southern California Coastal Water Research Project Authority

Ming Xu, 93 MS

Marine Transportation Specialist, Geodis Wilson

Thank you to those who have formerly served on the Dean's Advisory Council


The CEOE Dean’s Advisory Council was founded in 2010 by the following:

  • Brian F. Atwater, a 2010 inductee to the UD Alumni Wall of Fame who earned his doctorate in geology in 1980 and is a geologist with the U.S. Geological Survey at the Department of Earth and Space Sciences, University of Washington;
  • David Einolf, a 1984 graduate with a master’s in marine studies and founder of Endeavor EHS LLC;
  • Evelyn Maurmeyer, who earned her master’s and doctorate in geology in 1974 and 1978, respectively, and is president of Coastal and Estuarine Research Inc.;
  • Patricia Robertson, a 1972 graduate with a master’s in biology and retired teacher; and
  • Nick Vrolijk, who received marine studies master’s and doctoral degrees in 1988 and 1992, respectively, and is vice president of manufacturing at Celgene Corp.

We are grateful to the individuals below who have previously served on the Dean's Advisory Council.

  • Brian Atwater, ’80 Ph.D. and U.S.G.S. at Dept. of Earth and Space Sciences, University of Washington
  • James Demarest, '75 M.S., '81 Ph.D. and Director of International Exploration, Noble Energy
  • Costel D. Denson, retired, Vice Provost for Research, University of Delaware
  • David Einolf, '84 M.S. in marine studies and founder of Endeavor EHS LLC
  • Gerhard Kuska, '88 B.S., '05 Ph.D. and director of MARACOOS
  • ​Kirk Malloy, '90 M.S., '93 Ph.D. and Vice President Customer Solutions, Illumina, Inc.
  • Peter Mandelstam, founder and president of Bluewater Wind LLC
  • Evelyn Maurmeyer, ’74 M.S., ’78 Ph.D. President Coastal & Estuarine Research Co.
  • Patricia Robertson, ’72 M.S. and Co-founder of NanoDrop Technologies
  • Robert Specter, Vice President for Finance and Treasurer, The Catholic University of America
  • Nick Vrolijk ’88 M.S., ’92 Ph.D., and Vice President of Commercial Manufacturing Celldex Therapeutics