Logo Image

Faculty promotions

Trustees approve faculty promotions

The University of Delaware Board of Trustees approved the promotions of 50 faculty members, as well as emeritus status for seven professors at its spring meeting on May 17.

Nineteen faculty members were promoted to professor, two were promoted to professor without tenure, 24 to associate professor with tenure and five to associate professor without tenure. All promotions are effective Sept. 1.

Promoted to professor were Maciej Antoniewicz, chemical and biomolecular engineering; Wendy Bellion, art history; Meryl Gardner, business administration; Greg Hicks, physical therapy; Jill Higginson, mechanical engineering; Tianjian Hsu, civil and environmental engineering; Amanda Jansen, School of Education; Xinqiao Jia, materials science and engineering; Barry Joyce, history; Chrystalla Mouza, School of Education; Jack Puleo, civil and environmental engineering; Kristen Ritchey, School of Education; Greg Shriver, entomology and wildlife ecology; Patricia Sloane-White, anthropology; Michela Taufer, computer and information sciences; Tricia Wachtendorf, sociology; Liyun Wang, mechanical engineering; Sharon Watson, business administration; and David Wilson, political science and international relations.

Susan Barton, plant and soil sciences, and Danilo Yanich, School of Public Policy and Administration, were promoted to professor without tenure.

Named associate professors with tenure were Behnam Abasht, animal and food sciences; Jennifer Biddle, School of Marine Science and Policy; Eve Buckley, history; Thomas Buckley, kinesiology and applied physiology; Jeffrey Buler, entomology and wildlife ecology; James Clause, computer and information sciences; Jonathan Cohen, School of Marine Science and Policy; Gregory Dominick, behavioral health and nutrition; Olga Gorbachev, economics; Lars Gundlach, chemistry and biochemistry; Charles Hohensee, School of Education; Deb Jaisi, plant and soil sciences; Feng Jiao, chemical and biomolecular engineering; Salil Lachke, biological sciences; Edward Lyman, physics and astronomy; Julia Maresca, civil and environmental engineering; Jing Qiu, applied economics and statistics; Andrea Sarzynski, School of Public Policy and Administration; Ju Young Shin, School of Nursing; Abhyudai Singh, electrical and computer engineering; Jia Song, biological sciences; Rodrigo Vargas, plant and soil sciences; Haihong Yang, languages, literatures and cultures; and Joseph Zeni Jr., physical therapy.

Promoted to associate professor without tenure were Jennifer Buckley, mechanical engineering; Nigel Caplan, English Language Institute; Marie Laberge, women and gender studies; Carla Morris, Associate in Arts program; and Elizabeth Soslau, Delaware Center for Teacher Education.

Emeritus faculty

Emeritus status was approved for Margaret Andersen, Edward F. and Elizabeth Goodman Rosenberg Professor of Sociology; David Bellamy, professor of mathematical sciences; James Dean, professor of English; David Saunders, professor of computer and information sciences; Nancy Signorielli, professor of communication; Donald Unger, professor of human development and family studies; and Jeanne Walker, professor of English.

The resolution approving these actions noted “the Board of Trustees wishes to acknowledge and celebrate faculty excellence” and offered congratulations to all those recognized.

Contact Us

Have a UDaily story idea?


Members of the press contact


  • UD Overall Enrollment, fall 2017

    Article by Cindy Hall | October 23, 2017

    The 23,774 students on campuses this fall are the most in the University’s history.

  • Protect your computer

    Article by IT Communication Group | October 23, 2017

    Do you know the basics of computer hygiene?

  • Home for the health professions

    Article by Dante LaPenta | October 23, 2017

    Center for Health Profession Studies cuts the ribbon on a new home in Pearson Hall


Keep up with news, events and more with UDaily Newsletters.