Logo Image

Faculty promotions

Trustees approve faculty promotions

The University of Delaware Board of Trustees approved faculty promotions at its spring meeting May 17. All are effective with the 2016-17 academic year.

Twenty-two faculty members were promoted to professor with tenure, one was promoted to professor without tenure, 24 to associate professor with tenure, one to associate professor without tenure and three to assistant professor.

In addition, tenure was awarded to incoming President Dennis Assanis in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and to two associate professors, Steve Amendum in the School of Education and Anjana Bhat in the Department of Physical Therapy. 

Promoted to professor were Alice Ba, political science and international relations; Srikanth Beldona, hospitality business management (formerly hotel, restaurant and institutional management); Robert Coulter, mathematical sciences; Theodore Davis, political science and international relations; Abigail Donovan, art; Erica Armstrong Dunbar, Black American studies; David Edwards, kinesiology and applied physiology; Thomas H. Epps, III, chemical and biomolecular engineering; Jeffrey Heinz, linguistics and cognitive science; Melissa Ianetta, English; Muqtedar Khan, political science and international relations; Edward Larkin, English; Doug Miller, School of Marine Science; Christopher Modlesky, kinesiology and applied physiology; Meredith Ray, languages, literatures and  cultures;Christopher Sommerfield, School of Marine Science; Lawrence Stomberg, music; Charles Buz Swanik, kinesiology and applied physiology; Satoshi Tomioka, linguistics and cognitive science; Fabrice Veron, School of Marine Science; Christopher Williams, entomology and wildlife ecology; and Lance Winn, art.

Chaoying Ni, materials science and engineering, was promoted to professor without tenure.

Named associate professor with tenure were Carlos Asarta, economics; Kamile AsliBasoglu, accounting and MIS; Nayantara Bhatnagar, mathematical sciences; Persephone Braham, languages, literatures and cultures; Nerissa Brown, accounting and MIS; Pascha Bueno-Hansen, women and gender studies; Sarah Dodson-Robinson, physics and astronomy; Jason Hustedt, human development and family studies; Pak-Wing Fok, mathematical sciences; Amy Hicks, art; Tobias Kukulka, School of Marine Science and Policy; Lucas Lu, mechanical engineering; Melissa Melby, anthropology; Phillip Penix-Tadsen, languages, literatures and cultures;Ioannis Poulakakis, mechanical engineering; Tania Roth, psychological and brain sciences; Sharon Rozovsky, chemistry and biochemistry; Daniel Stevens, music; Jillian Trabulsi, behavioral health and nutrition; Joseph Trainor, School of Public Policy and Administration; Dana Veron, geography; Mary Watson, chemistry and biochemistry; Chengmo Yang, electrical and computer engineering; and Jung Eun Yoo, hospitality business management.

Promoted to associate professor without tenure was Duane Cottrell, music.

New assistant professors are Kenneth Cranker and Scott Duarte, both English Language Institute; and Stephanie Kotch-Jester, School of Education. 

Media Contact
  • LaPenta to retire

    Article by UDaily staff | June 23, 2017

    Human Resources head Tom LaPenta announces retirement

  • For the Record, June 23, 2017

    Article by UDaily staff | June 23, 2017

    University community reports recent honors and presentations

  • New assignments

    Article by UD Athletics | June 23, 2017

    Changes announced in Recreation Services staff

  • New trustees

    Article by UDaily staff | June 21, 2017

    UD professor, recent graduate welcomed to Board of Trustees

  • In Memoriam: John Weiss

    Article by UDaily staff | June 22, 2017

    Art professor coordinated UD photography program

  • LaPenta to retire

    Article by UDaily staff | June 23, 2017

    Human Resources head Tom LaPenta announces retirement


Keep up with news, events and more with UDaily Newsletters.