UD Standard Web header

Jeanne K. Buxbaum Scholarship

A scholarship or assistantship presented to a nursing student (graduate and/or undergraduate) who has demonstrated academic excellence (minimum of 3.0 GPA) and a sincere interest in older adults with vision and other sensory impairments or adults with sensory impairments.

Buxbaum Scholarship Application Web Form

Jeanne Kitenplon Buxbaum, Ph.D., 1915-2003

Jeanne Buxbaum

Scientist, Scholar, Benefactor

Dr. Jeanne K. Buxbaum earned B.S. (1938) and Ph.D. (1941) degrees in chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology School of Science and an M.B.A. (1974) from the University of Delaware . She was the first Ph.D.-prepared woman chemist employed by DuPont Company, where she worked until her retirement in the late 1980s. She was married to Edwin Buxbaum, Ph.D., an organic chemist and anthropologist, who predeceased Jeanne. They had no children together.

Dr. Buxbaum was a member of Sigma Xi (science honorary society), Beta Gamma Sigma (business administration honorary society), and the Association of Chemical Engineers. She was co-inventor on a patent issued in Canada to DuPont Company for a dye dispersion process. She was an avid gardener and passionate about classical music.

At age 87, Dr. Buxbaum was frail and had lost her sight due to macular degeneration; she was cared for by professional nurses until her death. She left a large portion of her estate to the University of Delaware , establishing the Jeanne K. Buxbaum Scholarships for undergraduate and graduate students in Nursing and the Jeanne K. Buxbaum Chair of Nursing Science – all of which are focused on aging, specifically those aspects of aging associated with frailty in late life, such as sensory losses.

Profile of Buxbaum Scholars

Buxbaum Scholars

Dr. Rempusheski and Buxbaum Scholars attend
2008 Friends of the National Institute of Nursing
Research Gala in Washington, D.C, October 1, 2008:
Pictured (L to R) at McDowell Hall are Lindsay
Zaleski, Carolyn Ziminski, Dr. Rempusheski, Jessica
Page, and Hannah Draper before leaving for the Gala.

Graduate Student
Buxbaum Scholars

Katherine Price, 2007
Danielle Chellappoo, 2007-08
Hannah Draper, 2008-09
Michelle A. Kennedy, 2009-11
Lisa Marie Davidson, 2010-11
Kelly Leedy, 2011-13
Sangeetha Karunanithi, 2012
Ann Marie Gamble, 2013-14
Emily Banning, 2014-15
Matthew Koterwas, 2014-15



Buxbaum Scholars

Dr. Rempusheski and the 2007-08 Buxbaum
Scholars attended the 17th Annual Research
Conference, sponsored by the Delaware Nurses
Association, Committee on Nursing Research and the
Beta Xi, Omicrom Gamma, and Tau Beta Chapters of
Sigma Theta Tau International, at Wilmington College
Dover Campus, on September 7, 2007. Left to right
are:Dr. Veronica Rempusheski, Danielle Chellappoo,
Matthew Koterwas, Jessica Page, and Carolyn

Undergraduate Student Buxbaum Scholars

Carolyn Ziminski, 2006-09
Mathew Koterwas, 2007-09
Jessica Page, 2007-10
Jessica Carter, 2008-10
Lisa J. Fox, 2008-10
Lindsay Zaleski, 2008-09
Zoey Call, 2009-12
Ashley Martinez, 2009-12
Audrey Arcuri, 2010-11
Brittany Drazich, 2010-13
Marissa Alligood Merson, 2010-12
Megan Hagen, 2011-12
Lindsay James, 2011-12
Danielle Jacoby, 2012-14
Rita-Rae Schaeffer, 2012-14
Delaney White, 2012-14
Rachael L. Cooper, 2013-15
Julia Pohlman, 2013-15
Kearstin Raby, 2013-15
Natalie Roddy, 2014-15
Angela Gonzales, 2014-15
Paulina Renda, 2014-15
Audrey McGowen, 2014-15
Julie Harlam, 2014-15

CHS Honors Day - October 2012

2012 Buxbaum Scholars

Standing left to right: Dean Matt, Buxbaum Scholars Delaney White, Rita-Rae Schaeffer, Danielle Jacoby, Sangeetha Karunanithi, and Dr. Rempusheski

  • College of Health Sciences  •   School of Nursing  •   25 North College  •   Newark, DE 19716
    Phone: 302-831-1253   •   Fax: 302-831-2382  •  ud-nursing@udel.edu   •  © 2014
    Comments   |    Contact Us    |    Legal Notices