We have a long tradition of quality teaching
 

Sociology and Criminology Faculty and Emeriti Faculty

Faculty | Emeriti Faculty


Department Directory

Faculty

Benigno Aguirre Benigno Aguirre, Ph.D.
(Ohio State)
Professor
aguirre@udel.edu
VITA

DRC - 166 Graham Hall
302-831-0204
Collective Behavior/Social Movements, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Qualitative Methodology
Margaret L. Andersen Margaret L. Andersen, Ph.D
(Massachusetts)
Edward F. and Elizabeth Goodman Rosenberg Professor
mla@udel.edu
VITA

109 Hullihen Hall
302-831-7299
Race relations, sex and gender, theory
Tammy A. Anderson Tammy A. Anderson, Ph.D.
(The American University)
Professor
tammya@udel.edu
VITA

337 Smith Hall
302-831-2291
Deviance, Pop Culture, Gambling, Drugs, Crime Race and Gender
Ronet Bachman Ronet Bachman, Ph.D.
(New Hampshire)
Professor
ronet@udel.edu
VITA

409 Smith Hall
302-831-1229

Crime and delinquency, family violence
Ann Bell Ann Bell, Ph.D.
(University of Michigan)
Assistant Professor
avbell@udel.edu
VITA

309 Smith Hall
302-831-8231
Medical Sociology, Gender & Sexuality, Social Stratification/Inequalities, Social Epidemiology, Sociology of the Family, Intersectionality, Qualitative & Quantitative Methodologies
Joel Best Joel Best, Ph.D
(California at Berkeley)
Professor
joelbest@udel.edu
VITA

25 Amstel Avenue
302-831-8225
Deviance, social problems, fads and fashions
  Anne Bowler, Ph.D.
(New School for Social Research)
Associate Professor and Associate Chair
abowler@udel.edu

310 Smith Hall
302-831- 2583
Classical and contemporary theory, art and culture, gender
Aaron Fichtelberg Aaron Fichtelberg, Ph.D.
(Emory University, GA),
Associate Professor
afichte@udel.edu
VITA

332 Smith Hall
302-831-1561
International Criminal Justice, Comparative Criminal Justice, and Legal Theory
Ben Fleury-Steiner Ben Fleury-Steiner, Ph.D.
(Northeastern University)
Associate Professor
bfs@udel.edu
VITA

336 Smith Hall
302-831-8221
Sociology of Race Relations; Punishment and Social Control
Asia Friedman Asia Friedman, Ph.D.
(Rutgers)
Assistant Professor
asiaf@udel.edu
VITA

313 Smith Hall
302-831-7581
Gender, Sexuality, The Sociology of the Body, Sociological Theory, Cultural Sociology, Social Psychology, Medical Sociology, Qualitative Methods, Race and Ethnicity.
  Kenneth Haas, Ph.D.
(Rutgers)
Professor
also Professor, Department of Political Science
kenhaas@udel.edu
VITA

25 Amstel Avenue
302-831-2495
Judicial behavior, criminal law, corrections law
Lana Harrison Lana Harrison, Ph.D.
(Univ. of Michigan)
Professor and Sr. Scientist Center for Drug and Alcohol Studies
Lharriso@udel.edu
VITA

Center for Drug & Alcohol Studies
257 E. Main St. / 307 Smith Hall
302-831-6113 / 2859
Deviance, alcohol and drugs
Elizabeth HigginbothamElizabeth Higginbotham, Ph.D.
(Brandeis)
Professor
ehiggin@udel.edu
VITA

316 Smith Hall
302-831-2681
Racial Stratification/mobility; poverty; women and work; qualitative methods
Maria Johnson Maria Johnson, Ph.D.
(University of Michigan)
Assistant Professor
VITA

311 Smith Hall
302-831-6114
Race, gender, social inequality, public policy
  Emma Jean Joseph, J.D.
(Widener University School of Law)
Assistant Professor
ejjoseph@udel.edu

307 Smith Hall
(302) 831-1236
 
Aaron Kupchik Aaron Kupchik, Ph.D
(New York University)
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
akupchik@udel.edu
VITA

329 Smith Hall
302-831-3267
Juvenile justice, schools, delinquency and courts
Chrysanthi S. LeonChrysanthi S. Leon, JD, Ph.D
(University of California, Berkeley)
Associate Professor
santhi@udel.edu
VITA

Field Experience Information (CRJU 495)

312 Smith Hall
302-831-8683
Sex crime and punishment, law, society and criminology
Carole Marks Carole Marks, Ph.D.
(New York)
Professor
cmarks@udel.edu
VITA

205 Mechanical Hall
302-831-1133
Race relations, migration, urban sociology
Barret Michalec Barret Michalec, Ph.D
(Emory University)
Assistant Professor
bmichal@udel.edu

46 East Delaware Avenue
Room 201
302-831-1205
Health Professions Education; Interactions in the Healthcare Setting; Disparities in Health & Healthcare; Experiences of Health & Illness; Empathy
Susan Miller Susan Miller, Ph.D.
(Maryland)
Professor
slmiller@udel.edu
VITA

335 Smith Hall
302-831-1562
Gender and crime, community policing, social control, domestic violence
Joanne M. Nigg Joanne M. Nigg, Ph.D.
(UCLA)
Professor
nigg@udel.edu

DRC-166 Graham Hall / 307 Smith Hall
302-831-1984 / 2859
Collective behavior, social movements, environmental sociology; disaster research
Karen Parker Karen F. Parker, Ph.D
(North Carolina State University)
Professor
kparker@udel.edu
VITA

334 Smith Hall
302-831-0649
Urban violence, disaggregated (race-, gender-specific) homicide , racial inequality, labor market stratification and work, recidivism, research methods and statistics
Victor Perez Victor Perez, Ph.D
(University of Delaware)
Assistant Professor
victorp@udel.edu
VITA

46 East Delaware Avenue
Room 302
302-831-6232
Popular Epidemiology, Childhood Illness, Medical Disability/Diversity, Geo-Spatial Mapping, Measurement in Survey Research
Eric Rise Eric Rise, J.D., Ph.D.
(Florida)
Associate Professor and Associate Chair
erise@udel.edu
VITA

325 Smith Hall
302-831-8679
Constitutional and legal history, judicial process, law and society
  Cynthia Robbins, Ph.D.
(Michigan)
Professor
robbins@udel.edu
VITA

328 Smith Hall
302-831-6815
Substance abuse, deviance, social epidemiology
Ivan Sun Ivan Sun, Ph.D.
(SUNY at Albany)
Professor
isun@udel.edu
VITA

331 Smith Hall
302-831- 8727
Policing, Administration of Criminal Justice, Comparative Criminal Justice, Social Institutions and Crime
  Joseph Trainor, Ph.D.
(University of Delaware)
Research Assistant Professor
jtrainor@udel.edu
VITA

166 Graham Hall
302-831-4203
 
Eric Tranby Eric Tranby, Ph.D.
(University of Minnesota)
Assistant Professor
etranby@udel.edu
VITA

314 Smith Hall
302-831-1566
Sociology of Religion; Work-Family Balance and Policies; Life Course Sociology; Symbolic Boundaries and Tolerance; Social Inequality; Comparative Sociology; Research Methods; Quantitative Methodology
Gerald Turkel Gerald Turkel, Ph.D.
(California, Santa Barbara)
Professor
gmturkel@udel.edu
VITA

25 Amstel Avenue
302-831-1567
Social and political theory, law and society, gender
Christy Visher Christy Visher, Ph.D.
(Indiana University)
Professor
visher@udel.edu
VITA

CDAS - 257 East Main Street
Suite 110
302-831-6921
Communities and crime, substance use, criminal careers, role of social factors in criminal desistance, evaluation of strategies for crime control and prevention
Tricia Wachtendor Tricia Wachtendorf, Ph.D.
(University of Delaware)
Associate Professor
twachten@udel.edu
VITA

Emergency and Environmental Management Concentration

DRC - 166 Graham Hall
302-831-1254
Sociology of disasters, collective behavior, qualitative methods
Kirk Williams Kirk Williams, Ph.D.
(University of Arizona, Tucson)
Chair and Professor
kirkw@udel.edu
VITA

322 Smith Hall
302-831-8233
Intimate Partner and Youth Violence, Family and Youth Violence Risk Assessment, Violence Prevention, Homicide Research, Development and Life Course Criminology

^ Back to top

Post Doctorate Fellow

Armando Lara-Millan Armando Lara-Millán, Ph.D.
(Northwestern University, Evanston, IL)
Post Doctorate Fellow
@udel.edu
VITA

311 Smith Hall
302-831-6114
Crime, law and deviance

Emeriti Faculty

Sally Bould Sally Bould, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita
(Bryn Mawr College)
sabould@udel.edu
VITA

Recent Publications
EURIAS Award
Family policy; poverty and the elderly
Russell R. Dynes Russell R. Dynes, Ph.D
Research Professor Emeritus
(Ohio State)

Disaster Research Center
Social organization, religion
M. David Ermann M. David Ermann, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
(Department of Sociology,
University of Michigan, 1973)

322 Smith Hall
302-831-2581
davee@udel.edu
Organizational Deviance and
Sociology of Organizations
Sociology of Health Care
Valerie Hans
Valerie Hans, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita
(Toronto)

valerie-hans@cornell.edu

Professor of Law,
Cornell University

Biography
Law and society; legal and jury decision making; psychology and law
Vivian Klaff Vivian Klaff, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
(Wisconsin)

In Memoriam
Demography, urban sociology
  Enrico L. Quarantelli, Ph.D
Research Professor Emeritus
(Chicago)

lqdrc@udel.edu

Disaster Research Center
Collective behavior and social movement
  Robert Rothman, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
(Purdue),

sleuth34@comcast.net
Law & Society, Occupations/Professions, Stratification/Mobility
Frank Scarpitti Frank Scarpitti, Ph.D.
Edward and Elizabeth Rosenberg Professor
Professor Emeritus

(Ohio State),

frs@udel.edu
Deviant behavior, crime

^ Back to top

faculty