Changing your privacy status

For privacy reasons, you may want to hide your name from other participants in your course or project site. Also, you may not want them to be able to contact you through the site.

To hide your name from other participants and prevent them from contacting you through the site, on the site's Home page, under "Privacy Status", select Hide Me, and then click Update.

To change your privacy status to visible and allow other participants to reach you through the site, select Show Me, and then click Update.

You also can manage your privacy status for all sites to which you belong from Preferences in My Workspace:

  1. In your My Workspace menubar, click Preferences.

  2. Near the top, click Privacy Status.

  3. Use the drop-down list to choose a site, and then select either Hide Me or Show Me to set your privacy status for that site.

  4. Click Update to save your change.

Alternatively, you can click Show me in All Sites to make yourself visible in all sites to which you belong, or Hide Me in All Sites to hide yourself in all sites to which you belong.

Things to consider

Before changing your privacy status, consider the following: