RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING DR. DENNIS ASSANIS FOR HIS DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AS PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE

WHEREAS, Dr. Dennis Assanis was named the 28th President of the University of Delaware in 2016; and

WHEREAS, under Dr. Assanis's leadership, the University expanded its research enterprise, strengthened innovation and entrepreneurship, and grew its global reputation as a premier research institution; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Assanis prioritized student success and inclusion, launching new initiatives in undergraduate and graduate education, enhancing access and affordability, and expanding programs to support a more diverse and equitable campus community; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Assanis guided the University through the unprecedented challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic with steadiness and care, ensuring continuity of academic operations while safeguarding the health and well-being of the campus community; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Assanis championed the continued development of the Science, Technology and Advanced Research (STAR) Campus and enhancements to campus facilities; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Assanis has announced his intention to step down from the presidency of the University of Delaware, effective June 30, 2025; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees wishes to express its sincere appreciation and admiration to Dr. Assanis for his exemplary leadership, strategic vision, and unwavering commitment to the University of Delaware;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees of the University of Delaware hereby honors Dr. Dennis Assanis by conferring upon him the title of President *Emeritus*, with all the rights and privileges thereto appertaining.

Terri L. Kelly, Chair May 13, 2025

Teni L. Felly

RESOLUTION HONORARY DEGREE FOR DR. DENNIS ASSANIS THE UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE

RESOLVED, that the following individual shall receive an Honorary Degree at the Commencement ceremony on May 24, 2025: Dr. Dennis N. Assanis.

Terri L. Kelly, Chair May 13, 2025