Chairman

Mr. Brian T. Moynihan Bank of America

Business Vice-chair

Ms. Janet Foutty Deloitte LLP

University Vice-chair Ms. Joan T.A. Gabel

University of Minnesota

Labor Vice-chair

Mr. Lonnie Stephenson

Chairman Emeritus Mr. Charles O. Holliday, Jr.

President & CEO

The Honorable Deborah L. Wince-Smith

Council on Competitiveness

**Executive Committee** 

Mr. Thomas R. Baruch Baruch Future Ventures

Dr. Gene D. Block University of California, Los Angeles

Mr. William H. Bohnett Whitecap Investments, LLC

Dr. James P. Clements Clemson University

Mr. Jim Clifton Gallup

Mr. Mark A. Crosswhite Alabama Power Company

Dr. Michael M. Crow Arizona State University

Dr. John J. DeGioia Georgetown University

Dr. Suresh V. Garimella University of Vermont

Mr. James S. Hagedorn
The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company

Dr. Sheryl Handler

The Honorable Shirley Ann Jackson Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Dr. Farnam Jahanian Carnegie Mellon University

Dr. Mehmood Khan Life Biosciences, Inc.

Dr. Pradeep K. Khosla University of California, San Diego

Mr. James B. Milliken
The University of Texas System

Mr. Nicholas T. Pinchuk Snap-on Incorporated

Professor Michael E. Porter Harvard Business School

Ms. Randi Weingarten
American Federation of Teachers,
AFI-CIO

Dr. W. Randolph Woodson
North Carolina State University

Mr. Paul A. Yarossi HNTB Holdings Ltd.

Dr. Robert J. Zimmer
The University of Chicago

Founder

Mr. John A. Young
The Hewlett Packard Company

September 29, 2022

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy
Minority Leader
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515

Council on

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Speaker Pelosi, Leader McCarthy, Majority Leader Schumer, and Minority Leader McConnell:

As members of the Council on Competitiveness, we have come together to help shape an impactful, bi-partisan growth agenda for the United States – defining and calling for investments crucial to support the talent, technology, and infrastructure at the heart of U.S. prosperity. Consistent with this mission, we were pleased to support the recently passed CHIPS and Science Act, a critical step towards enhancing U.S. competitiveness.

As you know, the United States faces global challenges and competition across the scientific, research, and innovation landscapes greater than we've ever seen before. China's share of global research and development has quadrupled over the past two decades and its investment in research has more than doubled. At the same time, U.S. investment has lagged in comparison to global competitors now ranking tenth as a percentage of GDP.

It is this global competitive reality that spurred Congress to act. It is why the legislation includes \$52 billion in emergency spending to bolster the U.S. semiconductor industry, so desperately needed to support U.S. economic leadership and national security in this critical technology. *And it is why Congress must now follow through on the promise of the CHIPS and Science Act and fully appropriate its authorized programs in FY2023 and in the years to follow.* 

The challenges facing this country from supply chain issues to offshoring of new technologies to the rapid rise of global competitors across multiple industries must be addressed. We must invest in new knowledge and the translation of that knowledge into products, industries, and jobs. We urge you to fully fund CHIPS and Science.

Sincerely,

## Signatories on Following Pages

Jonathan Alger

President

James Madison University

**Dennis Assanis** 

President

University of Delaware

**Tom Baruch** 

Managing Partner

Baruch Future Ventures, LLC

Richard C. Benson

President

The University of Texas at Dallas

William H. Bohnett

President

Whitecap Investments

**Ted Carter** 

President

University of Nebraska System

James P. Clements

President

Clemson University

Jim Clifton

Chairman

Gallup

**Mark Crosswhite** 

Chairman, President and Chief Executive

Officer

Alabama Power Company

Michael M. Crow

President

Arizona State University

John J. DeGioia

President

Georgetown University

**Daniel Diermeier** 

Chancellor

Vanderbilt University

**Taylor Eighmy** 

President

University of Texas at San Antonio

**Gregory Fenves** 

President

**Emory University** 

Julio Frenk

President

University of Miami

Patrick Gallagher

Chancellor

University of Pittsburgh

Suresh Garimella

President

University of Vermont

Joan Gabel

President

University of Minnesota

Gordon Gee

President

West Virginia University

**Sheryl Handler** 

CEO

Ab Initio

**Phil Hanlon** 

President

Dartmouth College

Bill Hardgrave

President

University of Memphis

Joseph Harroz, Jr.

President

University of Oklahoma

Gregory P. Hill

President and Chief Operating Officer

**Hess Corporation** 

**Chad Holliday** 

Retired Chair and CEO

DuPont

**Meghan Hughes** 

President

Community College of Rhode Island

**Lloyd Jacobs** 

**President Emeritus** 

University of Toledo

Farnam Jahanian

President

Carnegie Mellon University

**Robert Johnson** 

President

Western New England University

Eric W. Kaler

President

Case Western Reserve University

Martha Kanter

President

College Promise

Pradeep K. Khosla

Chancellor

University of California San Diego

Rhea Law President

University of South Florida

Michael R. Lovell

President

Marquette University

Ronald Mason, Jr.

President

University of the District of Columbia

Gary S. May Chancellor

University of California, Davis

Josh Parker

Chief Executive Officer

Ancora

**Nicholas T. Pinchuk** Chairman and CEO

Snap-on Incorporated

**Darryll Pines**President

University of Maryland

**Rodney Rogers** 

President

**Bowling Green State University** 

**Julian Schuster** 

President

Webster University

**Ed Seidel** 

President

University of Wyoming

G. Gabrielle Starr

President

Pomona College

Elisa Stephens

President

Academy of Art University

**Lonnie Stephenson** 

**International President** 

**IBEW** 

Steve G. Stevanovich

Chairman & CEO

**SGS** Holdings

Kumble R. Subbaswamy

Chancellor

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Satish K. Tripathi

President

University at Buffalo

**Gregory Washington** 

President

George Mason University

Kim Wilcox

Chancellor

University of California, Riverside

**Randy Woodson** 

Chancellor

North Carolina State University

Harry L. Williams

President & CEO

Thurgood Marshall College Fund

Deborah L. Wince-Smith

President & CEO

Council on Competitiveness