New faculty inducted into Phi Kappa Phi are (from left, front row) Annette Giesecke, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures; Monika Shafi, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures and Department of Women and Gender Studies; Belinda Orzada, Department of Fashion and Apparel Studies; Jaehee Jung, Department of Fashion and Apparel Studies; and Ingrid Pretzer-Aboff, School of Nursing; and (second row) Susan Miller, Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice; Jon Cox, Department of Art; Robert Straight, Department of Art; and Tobin Driscoll, Department of Mathematical Sciences.

Phi Kappa Phi

Phi Kappa Phi honorary society inducts new members


2:09 p.m., June 5, 2013--Sixty-seven University of Delaware undergraduate students, two graduate students and nine faculty members were inducted into Phi Kappa Phi at a ceremony on May 3 at the Trabant University Center. The names of the inductees are available online.

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the oldest and largest honorary society in the nation. Its mission is to recognize and encourage superior scholarship in all academic disciplines. The UD chapter was founded in 1905. 

Honors Stories

Presidential honorees

Ten University of Delaware alumni were honored as recipients of the Presidential Citation for Outstanding Achievement during a ceremony held Friday evening, Oct. 17, in the Roselle Center for the Arts as part of Homecoming Weekend festivities.

Seafood contest winners

Culinary experts at the University of Delaware's annual Coast Day celebration showed off their skills by participating in oyster shucking, chowder and crab cake contests, with attendees helping to choose the winners.

The 2013-14 Phi Kappa Phi chapter president is Daniel B. Stevens, professor in the Department of Music. Other 2013-14 chapter officers are: vice-president/president-elect, Suzanne L. Burton, professor, Department of Music; student vice-president, Jessica M. Cordova, senior, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures; secretary, Susan T. Serra, Office of Service Learning; treasurer, U. Carl Toensmeyer, professor, Department of Food and Resource Economics; public relations, Susan Brynteson, vice provost and May Morris University Librarian; and past president, Cristina R. Bacuta, assistant professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences.

Each year the chapter recognizes student award winners.

The University chapter awarded the $500 prize in the Undergraduate Research Essay Competition to Natalie Antoinette Stevenson, a senior in the College of Arts and Sciences, for her essay “The Avian Herpesvirus mdv1-miR-M4 microRNA Is an miR-155 Analog and Increases Susceptibility of Young Chicks to Salmonella Enteritidis.” Robin W. Morgan, professor of animal and food sciences, served as her adviser.

The University chapter nominee for the National Fellowship for Graduate Study Competition was Elizabeth Joan Watson, a senior in the College of Arts and Sciences. Roberta M. Golinkoff, H. Rodney Sharp Professor in the School of Education, served as her adviser.

icon-fb icon-tw icon-yt icon-fs

News Media Contact

University of Delaware
Office of Communications & Marketing

UDaily is produced by the
Office of Communications & Marketing

The Academy Building
105 East Main Street
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716 | USA
Phone: (302) 831-2792
University of Delaware • Newark, DE 19716 • (302) 831-2792 • ©2012
University of Delaware • Newark, DE 19716 • USA • Phone: (302) 831-2792 • © 2013
Comments|Contact Us|Legal Notices