Ratledge Family Award for Delaware Public Service

Call for nominations

Purpose of the award

The Ratledge family, Delawareans who can trace their roots back to the 1700s, have established the Ratledge Family Award for Delaware Public Service. The Ratledge Family Award reflects the family's long commitment to both the State of Delaware and the University of Delaware. The award recognizes the contributions of University of Delaware community members to the well-being of all Delawareans.

The Ratledge Family Award is intended to encourage and recognize significant public service contributions by faculty, staff, and students to the citizens of the State of Delaware. At least one award of \$1,000 will be made each year.

Qualifications

Recipients of the Ratledge Family Award for Delaware Public Service must be members of the University of Delaware community. Professional staff, faculty, and students are eligible. Preference will be given to members of the College of Education & Public Policy and the College of Agriculture & Natural Resources.

The award will be given to the person(s) who exemplifies excellence in public service to citizens in the State of Delaware. Public service contributions shall be defined to include both paid and volunteer work.

Selection process

Nominations are being sought university-wide. The Award Committee will select the recipient(s). Nominations must be in the form of a letter to the chair as per below and must include basic biographical information (name, address, status/position at the University) and a detailed description of the public service contributions of the nominee. There is no form necessary for submission.

Deadline for submissions: August 14, 2009

The deadline for nominations is August 14, 2009. Nominations received after August 14 will be considered for the following year.

Award committee

As specified by the endowment gift to the University, the Award Committee is chaired by the director of the School of Urban Affairs & Public Policy (Maria Aristigueta) and includes the following members: a director from a center in the College of Education & Public Policy (Jerome Lewis, Director, Institute for Public Administration), the dean of Agriculture and Natural Resources (Robin Morgan) and the director of Cooperative Extension in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources (Janice Seitz).

Previous recipients

2008

Mark Manno, Delaware 4-H Educator Steven Peuquet, Director, Center for Community Research and Service (CCRS) Paul Galonsky, Graduate Student, College of Education & Public Policy

2007

Sue Barton, Extension Specialist, Ornamental Horticulture Dennis Loftus, Coordinator of the Delaware Academy for School Leadership (DASL)

2006

George "Bud" Malone, UD Poultry Scientist and Extension Poultry Specialist John Talley, Director of the Delaware Geological Survey Kevin Vonck, Senior Research Assistant and Deputy State Water Coordinator

2005

Ed Kee, Director of Agriculture for Delaware Cooperative Extension and Instructor, Plant and Soil Sciences

Carol J. Vukelich, Director, Delaware Center for Teacher Education

2004

Jerome R. Lewis, Director of the Institute for Public Administration Joy G. Sparks, State Program Coordinator for 4-H Youth and Development

Award specifications

Professional staff and faculty recipient(s) will receive a cash award of \$1,000 that can be used for any purpose. Student recipient(s) will receive their award of \$1,000 through the Financial Aid Office.

Contacts

Maria P. Aristigueta (Chair, Ratledge Family Public Service Award Committee) mariaa@udel.edu; Director, School of Urban Affairs & Public Policy 302-831-4570

Robin Morgan, Dean College of Agriculture and Natural Resources morgan@udel.edu; 302-831-1341

Jerome R. Lewis, Director Institute for Public Administration <u>jlewis@udel.edu</u>; 302-831-1709

Janice Seitz, Director Cooperative Extension jseitz@udel.edu; 302-831-2501