Controlling access to your site

Note: To complete the procedures in this document, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

To control access to your site:

  1. In your site's menubar, click Site Info.

  2. Click Manage Access.

  3. If you select the Publish site option:
    • All manually added participants will have access to the course.
    • Students and other instructors registered via UDSIS rosters will not have access until approximately two weeks prior to the first day of classes as announced on the Sakai@UD gateway.
    • If you're developing a course and don't want your registered students to have access, publish it so manually added users can see it, but remove the roster.
    Note: Approximately one month after the end of a semester, courses will be unpublished so students, assistants and guests will not have access. After that date, at their discretion, instructors can republish any course, and make some participants inactive, if necessary.

  4. If you select the Leave as Draft option:
    • Only instructors will have access to the course.

  5. Click Update.