Adding, editing, or removing participants

On this page:


Note: To complete the procedures in this document, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

Note: Course co-instructors (as defined in UDSIS) are given the Instructor role automatically, but they don't show up in the participants list in Site Info. They don't have to be added manually by the primary instructor. They do show up in the Roster tool though.

Adding participants

Note: At the University of Delaware students in the courses and sections (specified in Site Info/Edit Class Rosters) are given access automatically the first day of classes for each semester. Each student is assigned the section in which he or she is enrolled via UDSIS. Although students can be added individually using the Site Info tool, their sections will only be loaded from the information in UDSIS.
  1. In your site, from the menubar, click Site Info.

  2. Click Add Participants.

  3. For a participant at the University of Delaware, under "Username(s)", type the participant's UD ID.

    To find someone's UD ID, have that person visit www.udel.edu/network and login using his or her alphabetic UDelNet ID and password; the UD ID will appear at the top of the page. Note: Although you may also be able to add that person using his UDelNet ID@udel.edu, you should check to make sure the correct person is added.

    For a participant outside the University of Delaware:

    1. Submit an IT Help Request Form and include the external user's email address. You will receive a password for that person to use with Sakai@UD.
    2. Send the password to the external user.

    Once you have obtained the password, under "Guest(s) Email Address (external participants, e.g. jdoe@yahoo.com)", enter their email addresses.

    To add more than one participant, enter each UD ID or external email address on a separate line.

  4. Under "Participant Roles", choose whether to give all your newly added participants the same role or different roles. For more information about roles, see Participant roles. Click Continue.

  5. Choose the roles for the participant(s) you are adding. If you're assigning different roles to participants, use the drop-down list next to each name to select the appropriate role. If you're assigning the same role to all the participants you're adding, use the radio buttons to select the appropriate role. Click Continue.

    Note: Depending on your's site's configuration, roles may vary.

  6. On the next page, you have the option to automatically send email to the new participants, notifying them of the site's availability. Select the appropriate radio button, and then click Continue.

  7. Confirm that the information for the participant(s) you're adding is correct, and then click Finish.
Back to top

Editing participants

  1. In your site, from the menubar, click Site Info.

  2. In the Participant List, you can change a participant's role using the drop-down list under "Role".

  3. Under "Status", use the drop-down list to change a participant's status; choose Active or Inactive.

  4. Click Update Participants.
Back to top

Removing participants

Note:  This option is ONLY available if the participant was added manually.

  1. In your site, from the menubar, click Site Info.

  2. In the Participant List, under "Remove", check the box next to each participant whom you would like to remove.

  3. Click Update Participants.
Back to top