Jewish Studies Program
Executive Committee and Faculty

Faculty who are teaching courses in the Jewish Studies Program are designated by *
Executive Committee Members for the Jewish Studies Program are designated by **

Jay Halio* **
Director, Frank and Yetta Chaiken Center for Jewish Studies
Emeritus Professor of English
English Department
118 Memorial Hall
jhalio@udel.edu
(302) 831-1394

Jay Halio specializes in modern Jewish American fiction and drama, as well as Shakespeare. He has published a book on Philip Roth and many articles and reviews on writers such as Saul Bellow, Delmore Schwartz, Anne Roiphe, and Bernard Malamud.

Peter Cole * **
Linguistics Department
46 East Delaware Avenue
pcole@udel.edu
(302) 831-6806

Peter Cole is the co-author and series editor of the Hebrew textbook series "Israeli Hebrew for Speakers of English." He is also the author of many scholarly articles on the syntax of Modern Hebrew, as well as works on a variety of other languages.

Heidi Kaufman* **
English Department
059 Memorial Hall
kaufman@udel.edu
(302) 831-3350

Heidi Kaufman specializes in nineteenth-century British literature and Jewish cultural studies, the history of the novel, and Jewish literature.

Diane Isaacs *
Adjunct Professor
English Department
212 Memorial Hall
dsipst@yahoo.com

Diane Isaacs specializes in Holocaust studies as well as African American literature and modern fiction.

David Langenberg **
Morris Library
117 Morris Library
dovidl@udel.edu
(302) 831-1668

David Langenberg is the selector for Jewish Studies at the University of Delaware Library.

Eynat Gutman* **
Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
308 Jastak-Burgess Hall
eynat@udel.edu
(302) 831-3393

Eynat Gutman teaches all levels of Hebrew and is especially interested in language for communication. In addition, she teaches Israeli film, history and literature.

James Brophy * **
History Department
210 Munroe Hall
jbrophy@udel.edu
(302) 831-0795

James Brophy specializes in nineteenth-century German history and teaches courses in modern Europe, nationalism, and the Holocaust.

Rebecca Davis * **
Department of History
207 Munroe Hall
rldavis@udel.edu

Rebecca Davis teaches courses that cover immigration, ethnicity, and religion in the United States, including the history of American Jews.


Bernard L. Kaplan *
Department of English
042 Memorial Hall
bkaplan@udel.edu
(302) 831-2379

Bernard Kaplan teaches Jewish literature and the depiction of Jews and Jewishness in other literatures.


Marian Palley **
Political Science and International Relations Department
460 Smith Hall
mpalley@udel.edu
(302) 831-1938



Jewish Studies Home · Arts & Sciences Home · UD Home