IEC Home


The Karl W. Böer Solar Energy Medal of Merit Award

Specific Alt text here

The Karl W. Böer Solar Energy Medal of Merit is awarded bi-annually to an individual who has made significant, pioneering contributions to the promotion of solar energy as an alternate source of energy through research, development, or economic enterprise, or to an individual who has made extraordinarily valuable and enduring contributions to the field of solar energy in other ways.

The Böer Medal of Merit Commission seeks individuals of great distinction who by their research or application or policies have made extraordinary contributions to the development of solar energy that are recognized nationally and internationally. The Merit Award is represented by a beautiful bronze medal and is accompanied by a $50,000 cash honor.

The Executive Director of the Karl W. Böer Solar Energy Medal of Merit Trust, Professor Robert W. Birkmire and the Vice Chairperson of the Award Committee, Ms. Monica V. Oliphant, invite nominations for the medal according to established Guidelines on behalf of the Selection Committee.

It has been announced that Mr. Richard M Swanson, an innovator in the field of photovoltaics and president emeritus of SunPower Corp., will receive the 2011 Karl Böer Solar Energy Medal of Merit during a ceremony to be held at 3 p.m. Tuesday, May 24, in Gore Recital Hall of the Roselle Center for the Arts on the University of Delaware campus in Newark. Mr. Swanson's invention of point contact cell has revitalized the silicon cell research that led to higher efficiency levels across the entire solar electric industry.


Previous Medal Winners:


Hermann Scheer

For his many years of activities and service advocating for renewable technologies as a member of the German Parliament, president of EUROSOLAR, and chairperson of the World Council for Renewable Energy.



Lawrence L. Kazmerski

For his pioneering research in thin-film photovoltaics and leadership of the U.S. Department of Energy's National Center for Photovoltaics (NCPV) at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) in Golden, Colorado, USA.



Yoshihiro Hamakawa

For his significant pioneering contributions to the development of high-efficiency thin-film solar cells and the advancement of solar photovoltaic science and technology as a clean energy source.



Martin A. Green

For his innovative research efforts in the development of high performance crystalline silicon solar cell technology.



Allen M. Barnett

For his pioneering high-performance, thin-crystalline silicon solar cells, and outstanding continuing service to the solar electric power community.



Stanford R. Ovshinsky

For pioneering the science of amorphous semiconductors resulting in the development of low-cost thin-film silicon solar cells.

MORE (Unknown)


Adolf Goetzberger

For his leadership in the international solar energy community, his research accomplishments, and for founding the eminent Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems.



David E. Carlson

For the discovery and commercial development of thin film amorphous silicon cells for converting sunlight to electrical energy.



President Jimmy Carter

The one individual who, more than anyone else, spurred development and focused world attention on the relatively unknown technology for safe and environmentally-sound energy production from the sun.