University of Delaware

Institute for Global Studies

ALUMNI Make a Gift

رسالة إلى أولياء الأمور - باللغة العربية


اعزائي اولياء الامر.....

بالنيابة عن جامعة  ديلاوير، أود أن أعرب عن تهانينا لقبول ابنك/ ابنتك في برنامج "مبادرة الشراكة الامريكية للطلبة القادة في الشرق الأوسط"في جامعة ديلاوير. تقدم العديد من المرشحين المميزين من الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا  لهذا البرنامج، ولكن تم إختيار ابنك/ ابنتك لما يتمتعون به من تميز أكاديمي ومهارات شخصية متفوقة.

يسعى معهد الدراسات العالمية لتعزيز الأبعاد العالمية للتعليم ، البحوث والخدمة في جامعة ديلاوير ، نحن نؤمن بأن السفر حول العالم يساعد على توسيع فهم المرء للعالم حوله فكما قال مارك توين وهو كاتب أمريكي مهم من القرن ال19 " السفر يميت التعصب، التحامل على الآخرين، وضيق الأفق ".

هذه هي المرة الرابعة عشرة التي تستضيف فيها جامعة ديلاوير هذا البرنامج يضع الطلبة ضمن شبكة واسعة من الزملاء، الأقران والخريجين من مبادرة الشراكة الشرق أوسطية في جامعة ديلاوير.

خلال سنوات عملنا في هذا البرنامج توصلنا لفهم مخاوف أولياء أمور الطلبة المشاركين ، فأنا كولي أمر أتفهم تماما المخاوف التي قد يشعر بها اللآباء عند سفر ابنائهم للخارج ، ولهذا أردت أن أطلعكم على بعض الأمور والخطوات المختلفة التي سوف تقوم بها جامعة ديلاوير لضمان سلامة وسعادة الطالب من خلال شرح المنهج MEPI_SLPالذي سيتم إتباعه.

الوصــول:سوف يقوم موظف بإستقبال ابنك/ بنتك في مطار واشنطن ومنه إلى الفندق الذي سيقيم فيه كل المشاركين والممثلين عن جامعة ديلاوير أيضا، خلالها سيقومون بحضور بعض الأنشطة التي تشمل حفل ترحيب من قبل وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية وجولات في مدينة واشنطن كذلك، بعدها سيتوجه الطلبة جميعا مع ممثلين عن جامعة ديلاوير بالحافلة إلى الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي في منطقة نيوارك بديلاوير. سيتم إستقبال الطلبة بحضور بقية موظفو البرنامج عند المجمع السكني للطلاب _ أبراج كرستيانا الجامعية _  لدى وصولهم هناك.

الســكن:سيتشارك كل طالب مع طالب آخر من نفس الجنس، شقة مكونة من غرفتين نوم- لكل طالب غرفة نوم خاصة به -ومساحة معيشة وحمام مشترك ومطبخ  لكل شقة، كذلك سيتم فصل سكن الإناث عن الذكور .الإتصال بالإنترنت سيكون مجاني ومتاح في السكن وفي جميع أنحاء الحرم الجامعي.

المستشارين المقيمون:عضوان من موظفي البرنامج سيعيشون في المجمع السكني للطبة –أبراج كريستيانا الجامعة- مع الطلبة على الدوام.هؤلاء الموظفين يتمتعون بخبرة عالية من خلال تعاملهم طوال الوقت مع الطلبة ، وهم على دراية تامة بالحرم الجامعي وبالمخاوف التي قد يواجهها الطلبة عند العيش بعيدا عن المنزل والأسرة للمرة الأولى.خضع هؤلاء الأعضاء لتدريب مكثف لكيفية التعامل مع أية مخاوف بالإضافة إلى تواجد –مكتب الجامعة للحياة السكنية – الذي يوفر خدماته مدار الساعة للتعامل مع أي مشكلة قد تطرأ.

الأمــن والأمــان: تلتزم الجامعة وقسم السلامة العامة بديلاوير بعمل كل ماهو ممكن لخلق بيئة آمنة تمكن الناس من الشعور بالأمان خلال عملية التعليم ، العمل والحياة في الجامعة.قسم السلامة العامة وبالتعاون مع معهد الدراسات العالمية يقدمان كل ماهو ممكن لضمان حصول الطلبة المشاركين على بيئة أمنة خلال إقامتهم.تتوافر هناك العديد من إختيارات الأطعمة للنباتين فضلا عن تواجد مطاعم محلية تقدم الأطعمة الحال.سنعمل بشكل وثيق على توفير أفضل الخيارات للطلبة الصائمين خلال شهر رمضان لتوفير بيئة صيام صحية مناسبة.

الرعـاية الطـبية:  تقدم وزارة الخارجية التغطية الطبية للمشاركين خلال فترة البرنامج وعليه يتواجد لدينا أطباء على مقربة من الحرم الجامعي ممن يقبلون هذا النوع من التأمين الصحي. يوجد في قسم السلامة العامة في جامعة ديلاوير فريق من المسعفين الذين يقدمون العلاج على مدار أربع وعشرين ساعة بشكل يوم بالإضافة لتوفير خدمات النقل في حالات الطوارئ.

الإتصـال والتـواصل: إننا ندرك أهمية إبقاء الطلاب على اتصال مع ذويهم لذا سيتمكن المشاركون من إستخدام أجهزة الكمبيوتر في جميع أنحاء الحرم الجامعي للتواصل عبر البريد الإلكتروني او أي وسيلة اخرى. المشاركون مدعوون لجلب الكمبيوتر المحمول الخاص بهم، ولكن ينبغي لهم النظر في مخاطر التلف اوالسرقة. ينبغي للمشاركين وأولياء الأمور ملاحظة أن استخدام الهواتف النقالة أثناء وجودهم في الحصص الدراسية ممنوع منعا باتا. في حالات الطوارئ وخلال أوقات المحاضرات، يرجى الاتصال على معهد الدراسات العالمية    قسم الأمن بجامعة ديلاوير .   +1 (302) 831-2222 /+1 .(302) 831-2852


الامـور الـمالية:حكومة الولايات المتحدة ستتحمل كافة مصاريف إقامة الطالب، وقد رتب معهد الدراسات العالمية للطالب مسألة الحصول على المصروف لاستخدامه خلال البرنامج، وسوف تعمل معهم لتحديد ميزانية الصرف كلما دعت الحاجة لذلك. في حين أنه ليس من الضروري أن يحضر الطالب أي أموال إضافية ولكن إذا رغب بفعل ذلك فعليه إحضار الأموال بعملة الدولار الأمريكي.

الـديـن و الحياة الـروحانية:  نحن نحترم الحياة الدينية والروحية للفرد، وعليه سوف يتم توفير غرفة للصلاة في نفس مبنى الصفوف الدراسية .نحن نحاول الحفاظ على جعل الانشطة يوم الجمعة قليلة ليتمكن الطلبة من أداء صلاة الجمعة ويقع المسجد على بعد بضعة كيلومترات فقط من الحرم وسوف يعمل الموظفين على نقل الطلبة من مختلف الأديان لمراكز العبادة الخاصة بهم بإستخدام الحافلات.

فالختام قمنا بعمل برنامج متكامل فهو يتحدى الطالب أكاديميا مرفقا بالأنشطة الخارجية التي تحدث الطالب على المشاركة ، العمل بجد وفرصة لقاء أناس جدد.البرنامج يتكون من ورش عمل لتعليم القيادة ، فرص العمل المجتمعي والتطوعي والتواصل الفعال.في حين أن البرنامج يتحدى الطالب هو أيضا يوفر أوقات راحة واسترخاء للطلبة يقومون خلالها بإستكشاف مرافق وخدمات الجامعة.

موظفي البرنامج والمعهد على إستعداد للتواصل معكم في حال وجود أي تساؤلات أو مخاوف ، ونحن سعداء حقا بوجود الطلبة لقضاء جزء من عطلتهم الصيفية معنا .

مع خالص التقدير،

الدكتوره:  تريسي هولدن

المديرة الأكاديمية، /MEPI-SLP UD

tqholden@udel.edu

University of Delaware

Institute for Global Studies

ALUMNI Make a Gift

Letter to Parents

May 2014

Dear Parent or Guardian:

On behalf of the University of Delaware, I would like to extend our congratulations on your daughter's or son's acceptance into the Middle East Partnership Initiative's Student Leaders Program at the University of Delaware. Many excellent candidates from throughout the Middle East and North Africa were considered. Your student’s selection speaks highly of her or his academic standing, character and potential.

The Institute for Global Studies (IGS) seeks to enhance the global dimensions of teaching, research, and service at the University of Delaware. We strongly believe that it is important to travel internationally in order to expand one's understanding of the world. As Mark Twain, an important American writer of the 19th century put it, "Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness."

The 2014 MEPI program will be our 11th year hosting a MEPI program, and your student will become part of an extensive network of colleagues and peers that are University of Delaware MEPI alumni!

Over these years, we have come to understand that parents of traveling students have many concerns. As a parent myself, I understand some of the apprehension that you may feel in having your daughter or son travel so far from home, and I wanted to share with you some things about the MEPI-SLP Program and the various steps which the University of Delaware will take to ensure both the safety and happiness of your student.

ARRIVAL: A staff member will meet your student at Washington Airport and will accompany her or him to the hotel where all of our participants will stay while in Washington. Representatives of the University of Delaware will also stay at the same hotel. After opening activities, including a welcome ceremony by the US Department of State and a few days in Washington, DC, your student along with her or his colleagues will travel by chartered bus to our main campus in Newark, Delaware. Additional members of the MEPI-SLP staff will be on hand to greet each student at the University's Christiana Towers housing complex when they arrive there.

HOUSING: Your student will share a room in a two-bedroom apartment shared with one other student- participant of the same gender. Each apartment has its own bathroom. Women will be housed in one area while men will be housed in another. Free internet access is available on site and throughout campus.

RESIDENT ADVISORS: Two members of the Program staff will live in the University's Christiana Towers housing complex with the students. These staff members serve as Campus Resident Advisors during the school year and are familiar with potential concerns young people have when living away from home and family. Additionally, the University's Office of Residential Life has a twenty-four hour professional staff on duty to deal with any problems which may arise.

SECURITY: The University of Delaware's Public Safety department is committed to doing everything possible to create an environment where people can feel safe to learn, work, live, and visit. The University Police Department regularly works with the Institute for Global Studies to ensure that our program participants enjoy a safe community while they are here.

MEALS: Your daughter or son will be provided with a cash allowance enabling them to dine at restaurants, University of Delaware cafeterias, or to purchase food to prepare in her or his apartment residence. There are many vegetarian options available, as well as local restaurants which serve Halal food. We will work closely with students that fast during Ramadan to insure they manage their meals and fast in a healthy manner.

MEDICAL CARE: The Department of State provides medical coverage to participants during their program stay. We have located doctors within walking distance of campus who accept this insurance should your student require medical attention. In case of emergency, the University of Delaware's Department of Public Safety has a team of paramedics who provide on-the-spot treatment twenty-four hours per day and can provide emergency transport to the hospital.

COMMUNICATIONS: We recognize the importance of having students stay in touch. Participants will be able to use computers throughout campus to communicate via e-mail and messenger. Participants are welcome to bring their own lap top computer, but should consider the risks of damage and theft when deciding whether to bring a laptop. Participants and parents should note that the use of mobile telephones while in academic classes is strictly prohibited. In case of emergencies during class times, please contact the Institute for Global Studies at +1 (302) 831-2852 or the University of Delaware Police Department at +1 (302) 831-2222.

FINANCE: All the costs associated with your student's stay will be borne by the United States government. The Institute for Global Studies has arranged for your student to receive monies for use during the program and will work with her or him on issues of budgeting as may be needed. While it is not necessary to bring any funds, students who do so should bring their money in U. S. Dollars.

RELIGIOUS / SPIRITUAL LIFE: We are respectful of everyone's religious and spiritual lives. The Muslim Student's Association has offered to lend prayer rugs to any student-participant desiring to borrow one. We are attempting to keep Friday programming to a minimum. A mosque is located only a few kilometers from campus and is the Program staff is available to provide transportation. We have organized an academically-challenging program complemented with excursions to many places of interest.

Students will have time to relax and explore the campus and community on their own, with their peers, and with Institute staff. We are truly delighted to have them spend part of the summer with us. If you have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Dr. Tracey Holden 
Academic Director, MEPI-SLP UD
tqholden@udel.edu



  • Institute for Global Studies  •   Elliott Hall, 26 East Main Street  •   Newark, DE 19716  •   USA
    Phone: ++1 (302) 831-2852  •   Fax: ++1 (302) 831-6042  •   © 2011