University of Delaware

Institute for Global Studies

ALUMNI Make a Gift

الاسئلة الاكثر شيوعا

متى سنستلم جداولنا اليومية؟
بما ان جدول البرنامج يتغير يومياً، سوف لن نرسل الجدول النهائي مقدماً، حيث وجدنا أن إرسال نسخ عديدة من جدول الأعمال قد يكون مربكاً. سيتكون يومك المعتاد من العديد من الندوات وورش العمل أو المناقشات، مع استراحة لتناول طعام الغداء.بالإضافة إلى ذلك فسوف تشارك في فعاليات المشاركة المدنية عبر التطوع في منظمة محلية للخدمة وتكتسب المهارات التي يمكن أن تطبقها لمشاريع الخدمة المحلية والمجتمع المحلي. سيتكون المساء عادةً من وقت فراغ وعدة برامج متاحة للعشاء وكثيراً ما نخطط برامجاً اختارية لأوقات الفراغ كي يتسنى لكم قضاء الوقت مع المشاركين الآخرين وموظفي البرنامج. بالطبع، سيتوجب عليك العمل على بعض الواجبات المنزلية وسوف نخصص وقتاً لذلك كل يوم كي تكون لديك الفرصة لأن تعمل عليها أو أن تتلقى المساعدة من موظفي البرنامج إن تطلب الأمر.

 

أين سنعيش؟
سيكون مقركم في أبراج كرستيانا، واحدة من أفضل المجمعات السكنية في جامعة ديلاوير. كل شقة مصغرة ستكون مكونة من غرفتان وغرفة معيشة، غرفة الحمّام، ومطبخ مصغّر. ستكون لديك غرفتك الخاصة وستتشارك باقي الشقة مع زميلك. سنبذل كذلك كل جهد لنتأكد أن الرجال والنساء سيكونون في أماكن مستقلة، كما وأننا عيّنا أعضاء من طاقم العمل للسكن معكم في المجمع السكني في حال احتياجك إلى أحد للحديث معه

 

من سيكون زميلي في السكن؟
ستكون مفاجأة، ولكنه(ا) لن يكون من بلدك أو من بلد قريبة. نريدك أن تطور علاقات مع طلاب آخرين من المنطقة كما ومع الأمريكان. بالطبع، نرحب دائماً بأي طلبات معقولة فيما يختص بالسكن، ونطلب منكم الاتصال بالمساعد السكني في حال أن كانت لديك أي أسألة أو مخاوف فيما يتعلق بترتيبات المعيشة.

 

كيف سأتصل ببلدي؟
على الرغم من أنه ليست هناك هواتف في الغرف في أبراج كرستيانا، سيكون لديك وصول إلى الهواتف. إذا رغبت بالاتصال بالوطن باستخدام بطاقات الاتصال التي ستُوَفّر لك فور وصولك كما يمكنك استخدام الهواتف في مؤسسة الدراسات الدولية يوميا حين لا في فعاليات إجبارية، ويمكنكم أيضا استخدام هاتف جون المتنقل. يمكنك كذلك مواصلة استخدام هاتفك المتنقل في الولايات المتحدة، وإن رغبتك بشراء هاتف، فسيتواجد ممثل عن تي موبيل في بداية البرنامج في واشنطن.
هنالك أيضاً متجر تي موبيل في الحرم الجامعي بجامعة ديلاوير إذا رغبت بشراء رقم للهاتف أو إضافة دقائق إلى هاتفك. وكذلك في جهدٍ منا للعمل مع طرقك الشخصية للتواصل مع بلدك، سنوفر لك رصيد سكايب وبطاقات-هدايا لتي موبل، اعتماداً على تفضيلاتك

سيكون لكل غرفة كابل اتصال بالانترنت، كما ونقترح أن تجلب لابتوبك الخاص حيث أنه ليس هناك أية مرافق حاسب آلي في أبراج كرستيانا. كذلك لاحظ أن اللابتوبات التي قد لا يُنتبه له قد تضيع أو تُسرق، فتذكر أنك مسكول عن جهازك الشخصي بينما أنت في الولايات المتحدة. إن قررت ألا تجرب لابتوبك الخاص في الرحلة الدراسية، فسيمكننا إيداعه في مكان آمن، وإن قررت ألا تجلب لابتوبك على الإطلاق، فهناك مرافق للحاسب الآلي متوافرة في الحرم الجامعي لاستخدامك. الانترنت متوافر في القاعة العمومية بأبرج كرستيانا وفي مواقع أخرى في الحرم الجامعي، لمزيد من المعلومات انظر على
http://www.it.udel.edu/computingsites

ماذا لو احتجت لطبيب؟

وزارة الخارجية ستوفر لك الرعاية الطبية، وفي حالة الطوارئ فإن قسم السلامة العامة بجامعة ديلاوير يوفر طاقماً من المسعفين المتوافرين على مدار الساعة واليوم. وهم كذلك يوفرون مواصلات الطوارئ إلى المستشفى المحلي إن اقتضى الأمر، إلا أننا نأمل ألا يكون ذلك ضرورياً!. إن احتجت لأي رعاية طبية أو أي سؤال أو قلق معين فيما يختص بهذا الأمر، أعلِم موظفي المؤسسة بأنك لست بأفضل ما يرام وسنكون مسرورون لإيجاد المساعدة لك! 

 

كيف سيكون الطقس؟

فصول الصيف في ديلاوير عادةً ما تكون رطبةً وحارّة، والناس في الولايات المتحدة كثيراً ما يمشون، خصوصاً في البلدات الصغيرة، كنيوارك. عموماً، ستكون درجات الحرارة ما بين 30-35 خلال اليوم وما بين 22-27 خلال المساء. في رحلاتنا الدراسية لمختلف الأماكن بما فيها كولورادو وبوسطن، فستتراوح درجات الحرارة ما بين 27-32 خلال اليوم وما بين 17-22 خلال المساء، فيما سيكون الجو في مدينة نيويورك شبيهاً بنظيره في بلدتنا، نيوارك ديلاوير. من المهم جداً أن تجلب ما يكفي من الملابس والجوارب، ولا ننصحكم بالصنادل أو الأحذية ذات الكعب العالي حيث سيكون هناك الكثير من المشي خلال البرنامج. الرابط التالي سيوفر لكم المصادر الكافية لمزيد من المعلومات حول الطقس في ديلاوير.

www.weather.com/outlook/health/allergies/hourbyhour/19711?
from=36hr_topnav_allergies

 

ماذا سآكل؟

جامعة ديلاوير تحتوي على قاعات كل ما يمكنك أكله (بوفيه)، والتي ستحصل على إمكانية الوصول لها. كما انك ستستطيع الذهاب إلى قاعات الطعام التابعة لجامعة ديلاوير وأن تستخدم بطاقة ائتمان، النقد، فليكس (مبلغ مناسب من المال تستطيع وضعه في بطاقة جامعة ديلاوير كي لا تضطر لحمل النقود معك).
بالطبع، يمكنك أن تأكل في أي مكان على الشارع الرئيسي (مين ستريت)، والذي يوفر العديد من خيارات المطاعم الرخيصة والغالية حيث تستطيع الدفع نقداً. على الرغم من أن معظم المطاعم في مين ستريت بنيوارك توفر الخيارات النباتية وتوفر لحوماً غير لحوم الخنزير، فلا يوجد سوى عدد معين من المطاعم التي توفر الأكل الحلال تعييناً. بالتحديد، فإن المطعم الشرق أوسطي في مين ستريت والمسمى ب: علي بابا يوفر الأكل الحلال، كما يوفره مطعمٌ هنديٌ يسمى بالسزلر الهنديّ. في جهدٍ منا للتأقلم مع التفضيلات الغذائية لكل الطلبة، فكافّة عشاءات البرنامج ستوفر الأكل الحلال والخيارات النباتية. ستستطيع بكل سهولة إيجاد المطاعم الحلال في مواقع جولاتنا الدراسية.
إذا أردت شراء الطعام لشقتك فهنالك متجرٌ صغير في مجلس العموم بأبراج كرستيانا، حيث ستكون إقامتك. خيارٌ آخر هي بقالة (سوبر ماركت كامل الحجم) يدعى سوبر فريش، ولديه بعض الأطعمة الحلال ولكن أغلب اللحوم ليست كذلك، وهو لا يبعد سوى عشر دقائق من المشي بالأقدام من أبراج كرستيانا. كما وسنتمكن من توفير رحلات للمطاعم والمتاجر التي توفر الأكل الحلال لأولئك الذين قد يهمهم الأمر.

 

محظورات التدخين

يجب أن تعلم، أن التدخين أمرٌ مغضوب عليه في عديد أجزاء الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. الغرباء في الشارع كذلك قد يقولون لك، هذه الأشاء تقتلك!. بينما نتفهم أن الطبيعة التطفلية لهذا الفعل قد تسبب لك الإزعاج، ستجد أن الامريكان، بيما فيهم الغرباء، هم في العادة ودودون، فلا يتسبّبن لك ذلك بالإهانة! إن سألك أحدهم بلطف أن تمتنع عن التدخين بمقربةٍ منهم، فمن اللائق اجتماعياً أن تلبي طلبهم وأن تتحاشى دائماً التدخين بمقربةٍ من الناس احتراماً لأولئك الذين لا يدخنون.

بأي حال من الأ؛وال، فإن التدخين ممنوع قانوناً داخل الأماكن العمومية في معظم الولايات التي ستزورها. لذلك، فانتبه لألا تدخن (أبداً!!) داخل أي منطقة مغلقة، وذلك يتضمن المقاهي والمطاعم. يعيش الأمريكان بشكل عام في بيئة خالية من التدخين وذلك متناغم ومتفق مع طبيعة القانون لعدد من السنوات، ولذلك فقد تعود الأمريكان أن يكونون حساسين للتدخين (وسيقولون لك ذلك). في الواقع، فإن مجرد التدخين قد يُشعر الكثير من الناس بشعور مضطرب.

إن كنت مدخناً، فكن محترِماً لأولئك الذين هم حولك. حتى في الهواء الطلق، لا تدخن قلب أي بابٍ يلُفتح غالباً من الناس للدخول أو الخروج، أو حتى في منطقة فيها يتجمع الكثيرون، ولا ترمِ السجارة المُطفأة في الشارع- خذها معك، وتخلص منها في المكان المناسب. كذلك نرجو أن تتذكر وتكون على علمٍ بكافة قوانين التدخين.

 

متى ستجتمع الصفوف؟
ستجتمع الصفوف كل يوم في حوالي الساعة التاسعة صباحاً ويُتوقع منك الحضور كل يوم لكلٍ من الصفوف. جميع مواقيت الصفوف ستكون موجودة في جدول البرنامج وسيتم الإعلان مسبقاً عن أي تغيير يطرأ. في حالة المرض أو أي حال طارئة وغير مرتقبة، مما يمنعك من حضور الصف، نرجو إعلام أحد أعضاء طاقم البرنامج على الفور.

 

ما نريدك أن (لا) تفعله خلال الصف

افعل كل ما بوسعك كي تكون مراعٍ تجاه أساتذتك. هذا البرنامج سيقدم لك عن طريق أخصائيين من الطراز العالمي في مجالاتهم المختصة، لذلك فنحن نصر على أن تكون مهذباً ومحترماً طوال الوقت.

من المهم جداً أن تصل إلى الصف ببضع دقائق قبل الوقت، كي تجلس في مقعدك وتتهيئ لبداية الصف. في الولايات المتحدة، فإن صفاً يبدأ في التاسعة يعني أن أستاذك سيبدأ الحديث في 9:00 صباحاً. أي مقاطعات من أناس متأخرين لن تكون مرحبةً بها. عموماً، الدقة في الوقت أمر مهم جداً لدى الأمريكان، والتأخر على المواعيد يُعدّ نقصاً في احترامك للآخرين.

الحديث إلى زملائك في الصف كذلك هو أمرٌ غير مقبول. أساتذتك سيرحبون بأي أسئلة فيما يتعلق بأي نقطة، ولكن لا تقاطع الصف بالحديث العالي أو بالدردشة الجانبية. وكذلك فمن غير المرحب فيه أن تخرج من الصف للتدخين أو أن تغادر الصف لأي سبب، فقط لأنك تريد ذلك. مع ذلك، فإن أردت الخروج (الذهاب إلى الحمام، مثلاً)، لا تقاطع لطلب الإذن، فقط اخرج بهدوء وعد بنفس الهدوء الذي خرجت فيه.

ستجد أن الأساتذة في جامعة ديلاوير حقاً يرحبون بانخراطك في المحاضرة. ذلك يعني المشاركة والاستماع وطرح الأسئلة وإجابتها. غالباً، ستتحول المحاضرة إلى مناقشة يشارك فيها الجميع.

 

هل سأحتاج إلى محولات كهربائية؟

معظم البلدان تستخدم جهداً (فولت) كهربائياً مقداره 220-240 فولت، وهو أعلى مما تستخدمه الولايات المتحدة التي تستخدم 120 فولتاً. راجع الشاحن الكهربائي للجهاز الذي تريد جلبه، وسوف يعلمك بنطاق الفولت الذي يقبله.بعض الأجهزة (معظم اللابتوبات) تقبل ٢٢٠ و١٢٠ فولت. في هذه الحالة، فلن تحتاج إلا لمحول للقابس، حيث أن شكل القوابس يختلف في الولايات المتحدة عما هو عليه في بلدك.

معظم أجهزتك فقط ستقبل 220 فولتاً، ولذلك ستحتاج محولاً كهربائياً. نشجعك على أن تأخذ احتياجاتك من المحولات والمقابس قبل أن تأتي هنا، فأسعارها عادةً ما تكون مكلفة. إن احتجت إلى شراء أي محول في الولايات المتحدة، فهي متواجدة في المتاجر المحلية، المحالّ الكهربائية، والمجمعات، وسيتمكن أعضاء طاقم البرنامج من مساعدتك على

 

للمزيد من المعلومات انظر على

 www.udel.edu/UDaily

هنا تستطيع إيجاد مجموعة مصادر متعلقة بمجتمع جامعة ديلاوير 
www.delawareonline.com

هنا تستطيع الاطلاع على صحيفة ولمنغتون

ماذا أفعل في حالة الطوارئ؟

الرقم الوطني للطوارئ هو 911 ويعمل من أي هاتف. سوف يحولونك لأي وحدة ملائمة. إن احتجت إلى استخدامه، اطلب قسم الشرطة في نيوارك. سيجب عليك أن تتصل بالرقم 9 أولاً كي للاتصال بخارج الحرم الجامعي، فإن اردت استخدام أحد الهواتف التابعة للجامعة، فاتصل على 9 ومن ثمّ 911.
للمشاكل الطارئة في حرم الجامعة (المباني، المواقف الجامعية، المناطق الخضراء، الخ اخره، المُدارة من قبل جامعة ديلاوير) اتصل الى شرطة ديلاوير على الرقم 831222. إن لم يكن لديك هاتفٌ معك، فاتجه إلى أقرب نقطة زرقاء حيث يتصل بها هاتف يمكنك استخدامه. لدينا هواتف النقاط الزرقاء في أرجاء الحرم الجامعي. هذه النقاط الزرقاء واضحة جداً، وأدناهم هاتفٌ يمكنك استخدامه للاتصال بشرطة جامعة ديلاوير. تحذير: هواتف النقاط الزرقاء هي للطوارئ فقط. كذلك إن أمكن، أعلِم أحدأعضاء طاقم البرنامج بأي طارئة تحصل لك وسيجدون لك المساعدة اللازم

 

 

أي نوع من أنواع الملابس عليّ أن أجلب؟

بما أن الجو سيكون حاراً، فاجلب ملابسة مريحة وخفيفة الوزن للّبس اليومي. لدينا كذلك حدث أو حدثان رسميان حيث اللباس سيكون أكاديميّ الرسميّة (للرجال: قميص بولو أو طويل الكم، مع سراويل شينو أو خاكي. للنساء: أيّما تشعرون أنه رسميّ بما يكفي. لا تلبس الجينز في أحد أحداث الأعمال). كذلك فأنت مرحب(ة) بلبس لباسك الوطني في العشاء الرسميّ إن رغبت. كذلك فمن المقترح جلب ملابس للسباحة إن رغبت باستخدام حوض السباحة أو البحر وأنت في الولايات.

كذلك نقترح أن تجلب نظاراتاً شمسية وقبعةً بما أنك ستكون تحت الشمس حينما تمشي حواليّ الحرم الجامعي وبينما نكون في تنقلاتنا. كذلك من المنصوح أن تطبق قدراً من الكريم الواقي من الشمس، وبالخاصة حينما يكون الطقس مشمساً وحينما نكون في كولورادو، حيث ستكون الشمس أكثر قوةً بسبب الارتفاع الأعلى.

 

أي مناطقٍ سوف نزور؟

ستكون في بلدة جامعية صغير تُدعى نيوارك، ديلاوير (وليس مدينة صناعية تبعد ولاية واحدة فقط، نيوارك-نيوجرزي) لأكثر مدة البرنامج، مع رحلات دراسية مركزة في ولاية كولورادو ومدن مثل بوسطن ونيويورك المدينة وفيلادلفيا. كل من هذه المناطق لها ثقافتها المختلفة وفي بعض الأحايين فحتى اللغة (اللهجة) تختلف!

ستزورون أو ستمرون بكولورادو، مارِلاند، فرجينيا، ديلاوير، بنسلفانيا، نيو جرزي، نيو يورك، كنتكت، ماساجوستس، وواشنطن دي سي- عدد من الولايات أكثر ممّا زاره الكثير من الأمريكان!

 

ماذا بشأن النقود والبطاقات الائتمانية؟

على الرغم من أننا نقترح أن تصرّف النقود قبل وصولك إلى الولايات المتحدتة، فإن هناك محلاً للصرافة في ديلاوير وفي عديد من مناطق الزيارة. تستطيع كذلك استخدام ابطاقات الائتمان (فيزا وماستركارد) للدفع في تقريباً كافة الأماكن هنا، ولكن ضع في الاعتبار أنك قد تُحمّل تكلفة للتعامل. كذلك ستستطيع سحب  النقود من أي صراف آلي في أرجاء الحرم الجامعي وسيكون هناك صرافات آلية في مجلس العموم بأبراج كرستيانا وعدد من صرّافات بنك بي إن سي في الحرم الجامعي.

 

من سيقلّنا من المطار؟

ستُنسّق ترتيبات وصولك من قبل جامعة جورج تاون، وسيكون باستطاعتك الحصول على المعلومات بشأن رحلتك، وبشأن الاتجاهات حين تصل إلى المطار، وتأكيد إقامتك وسفرك في الفندق والمطار قبل بداية البرنامج. سيكون أعضاء من طاقم جوروجتاون في المطار لمساعدتك وتوفير المعلومات الإضافية، وإن احتجت إلى المزيد من التفاصيل بشأن سفرك، فلا تتردد بالسؤال.

 

هل عليّ أن أجلب دوائي؟

إن كنت تتناول وصفةً طبية بشكل منتظم، فبالتأكيد. ستستطيع شراء الأدوية التي لا تحتاج إلى وصفة طبية كالأسربين من مين ستريت بسعر معقول.

 

كيف سأستطيع التنقل في الأرجاء إن أردت الخروج مع طالب أو خلال نزهات نهاية الأسبوع خلال أوقات فراغنا؟

سيتم توفير المواصلات في برنامج معد بالفعاليات. سنتأجر عربات كبيرة للمواصلات لنقل المشاركين وطاقم البرنامج سيسوقون هذه المركبات بعد خوض عملية تشهد بمقدرتهم. بالإضافة لذلك، فإن موظفينا سيذهبون بك إلى أي مكان اختياري لفعالية مخطط لها في البرنامج اليومي، وسنكون سعداء لتوفير المواصلات إن أردت التخطيط والتنظيم لفعالية لوقت الفراغ. بشكل عام،  فإن معظم الأماكن في نيوارك ديلاوير، ومن ضمنها مين ستريت تقع ضمن مسافة للمشي. بالإضافة، ستستطيع أخذ الباص المحليّ لأماكن بعيدة، من ضمنها مجمع كرستيانا.

 

كيف سأستطيع الوصول إلى المسجد؟

التنقلات ستُوفّر من قبل موظفينا كل جمعة، للذهاب إلى رحلة للمسجد، وسنتأكد أن يكون هناك وقت فراغٍ كافٍ كل جمعة لإتاحة الفرصة لهؤلاء الذين يريدون الذهاب إلى المسجد، كما سيكون اعضاء الطاقم مسرورون لتلبية أية طلبات إضافية لزيارة المسجد خلال أوقات الفراغ في البرنامج ومرافقة من يشاء زيارة المسجد خلال زيارتنا الى اي مناطق الزيارة، وسيتم توفير المزيد من المعلومات حول مواقع المساجد في هذه الأماكن حين وصولكم إلى ديلاوير.

 

كيف سيؤثر شهر رمضان على برنامج هذا العام؟

إن برنامج ميبي للعام 2013 سيتقاطع مع رمضان. على الرغم من أننا ندرك أن صيام شهر رمضان ليس الحال لدى الجميع، وقد يُتعامل معه بشكل مختلف من قبل كل فرد، فنحن أيضاً نعرف أهميّة هذه المناسبة، ولذلك سنبذل كل جهدٍ ممكن لمراعاة تقيّدك الشخصي بصيام الشهر. تحديداً، فسنأخذ رمضان بعين الاعتبار ونحن نصيغ جدول البرنامج ونحدد أوقات الوجبات ومواقع التواجد، وفي نفس الوقت مع التأكد أن يكون البرنامج عادلاً وشاملاً لجميع مشاركي البرنامج. إن كان هناك المزيد مما يمكن أن نفعله لمراعاة صيامكم للشهر، فلا تترددوا بسؤال عضو من طاقم البرنامج.

 

كيف أحصل على المزيد من المعلومات؟

موقع برنامج ميبي بجامعة ديلاوير:
http://www.udel.edu/global/outreach/mepi.html
كن كذلك على حرية للاتصال بأي من موظفي ميبي إن كانت لديك أي أسئلة أو مخاوف معينة بشأن البرنامج وسنساعدك بكل سرور.

 

مساعدة صغيرة (كبيرة جداً) للأجانب: التحويل بين وحدات القياس الأمريكية:

الولايات المتحدة، اختلافاً عن مناطق عديدة في العالم، تستخدم النظام الانكليزي لدرجات الحرارة والقياس. لذلك، انظر ادناه لبعض معلومات التحويل الأساسية.

  Name of US unit US to Metric Metric to US
Weight Pound
Ounce
1 lb = 0.45 kg
1 kg = 2.2 lbs
1 oz = 28 g
1 kg = 35 oz
Volume (liquids) Fluid Ounce 1 fl oz = 3 cl 1 l = 33.8 fl oz
Length/Distance Inch
Foot
Yard
Mile
1 inch = 2.54 cm
1 foot = 30 cm
1 yd = 91 cm
1 mi = 1.61 km
1 cm = 0.39 inch
1 m = 3.28 feet
1 m = 1.09 yd
1 km = 0.62 mi = 3280 feet
Temperature Fahrenheit Degree °F = °C × 9 / 5 + 32 °C = (°F - 32) × 5/9

 

Share this pageyoutubetwitterfacebookSTAY CONNECTED

 

 

""FACULTY

Participants From:

Algeria
Bahrain
Egypt
Gaza
Israel
Iraq
Jordan
Kuwait
Lebanon
Libya
Morocco
Oman
Qatar
Saudi Arabia
Syria
Tunisia
U.A.E.
Yemen
West Bank

University of Delaware

Institute for Global Studies

ALUMNI Make a Gift

MEPI FAQ's

When will we get our daily schedule?

Since the program schedule is modified daily, we are not sending the final version in advance, as we find that sending multiple and different versions of the calendar can be rather confusing. Your typical class day will include seminars, workshops or discussions with a break for lunch. In addition, you will participate in civic engagement activities in which you will volunteer for a local service organization and attain skills that you can apply to your civic engagement project and home communities. The evenings will generally consist of some homework and a few more casual presentations on interesting topics as well as free time to plan and participate in various cultural and recreational activities that you can plan! You will receive your daily schedule each morning that specifically outlines all of the scheduled activities for the day.

Where will we be living?

You will be housed at the Christiana Towers, one of UD's best ranked housing complexes. Each mini-apartment consists of two bedrooms, a common sitting room, a rest room and kitchenette. You will each have your own bedroom and will share the rest room with your apartment mate. We have assigned staff members to reside in the housing complex in case you have any issues that you may need to address with our RAs.

Who will my roommate be?

It's a surprise but he/she will not be from your country or from a bordering country. We want you to develop new friendships with other students in your region as well as with Americans. Although we do not typically accommodate room change requests, please let you RAs know of any significant concerns that you may have with your rooming assignment or accommodations and we will do our best to resolve any such issues.

How can I get in touch with people at home?

Although there are no telephones in your rooms at the Christiana towers, you will have regular access to phones if you wish to call home. Georgetown University will be providing you the opportunity to purchase a US cellular phone and SIM card from T-Mobile, and the University of Delaware will be providing you with Skype credits.

Each room is laptop-capable with free internet and we suggest you bring a laptop since there are no computing facilities at the Christiana Towers. Please note that laptops left unattended may be stolen or misplaced, so remember that you are responsible for your laptop while in the US. If you decide not to bring your laptop on the study tour, it can be stored in a secure location. If you do not wish to bring a laptop, there are computing facilities available on campus for your use. Internet is available in the Christiana Commons and at many other computing sites on campus. For a list of public computing sites, see: http://www.it.udel.edu/computingsites

What if I need to go to the doctor?

The Department of State provides you with medical coverage and a staff member can arrange for you to visit a doctor. In case of emergency, the University of Delaware's Department of Public Safety has a team of paramedics available twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. They provide emergency transport to the local hospital if needed, though we hope it will not be necessary! If you need any medical attention or have any related questions or concerns, just let Institute staff know if you are not feeling well and we'll be glad to find help for you.

What is the weather going to be like?

Summers in Delaware are usually hot and humid, and people in the U.S. walk a lot, especially in small college towns like Newark. Generally speaking, temperatures in Delaware during the course of the program range between 30-35 during the day and 22-27 in the evenings. At our various study tour locations, San Diego, daily temperatures range from 22-29 during the day and 17-21 in the evenings while the weather in New York is comparable to Newark, DE. It is recommended that you bring comfortable clothes, socks, and shoes. Sandals and heels are not recommended as you will have a great deal of walking to do during the Institute. The following link is a helpful resource for more information about the weather in Delaware.
www.weather.com/outlook/health/allergies/hourbyhour/19711?
from=36hr_topnav_allergies

Where will I eat?

UD has all-you-can-eat (buffet) dining halls, to which you will have access. You will also be able to go to the UD food courts, which accept credit cards, and cash.

Of course, you can eat anywhere on Main Street, which has a wide variety of restaurants where you can pay cash. Although most restaurants on Main Street in Newark offer vegetarian options and serve non-pork meat, only select restaurants are considered Halal. Specifically, a Mediterranean restaurant on Main Street, called Ali Baba, serves Halal meat as well as an Indian Restaurant, called Indian Sizzler, also serves Halal meat. You will also be able to easily find Halal restaurants at our various study tour locations.

If you want to buy food for your apartment, there is a small convenience store in the Commons Building in the Christiana Towers, where you will be housed. A better alternative is the grocery store (full-size supermarket) named Super Fresh, which is a ten minute walk from the Christiana Towers.

Smoking don'ts:

You should know that smoking is frowned upon in many parts of the United States. Strangers in the street might also tell you "those things will kill you". While we understand that this intrusive approach might bother you, you will find that Americans (including strangers) are generally friendly, so please don't take offense! If someone politely asks you to refrain from smoking near them, it is socially appropriate to honor this request and always try to avoid smoking in close proximity to people as a courtesy to those who don't smoke.

In any case, smoking is prohibited by law in any indoor public place in most of the states you will visit. Therefore NEVER smoke inside of any building or closed area (including cafes and restaurants). Americans have lived in a largely smoke-free environment (by law) for many years now and are pretty sensitive to smoke (and they'll tell you about it). In fact - the smell of smoke alone can make many people feel ill.

If you do smoke, be respectful of people around you. Even outdoors, do not smoke near a door frequently used by people to get in and out, or in an area where there are a lot of people gathering, and take your cigarette butts with you - do not throw them on the ground - dispose of them in special receptacles in smoking areas. Please remember to be aware of and honor all applicable smoking laws.

When will classes meet?

Classes will meet everyday starting around 10:30 am and you are expected to attend every class. All classroom times are noted on your program schedules and any changes to class times will be announced to you in advance. In the event that illness or any other urgent or unforeseen circumstances prevents you from attending class, please let a program staff member know immediately.

Class do's and don'ts

Do your best to be considerate towards your professors.

It is extremely important that you get to class a few minutes early, in order to seat yourself and be ready to start. In the U.S., a class starting at 9:00 a.m. means that your professor will start speaking at 9:00 a.m.; and interruptions by people walking in late are not welcome. In general, being on time is very important for Americans, and it is considered disrespectful to be late..

Talking to your classmates during class is also not acceptable. Professors will welcome questions at any point, but do not interrupt class by being loud or chatting privately. It is also unacceptable to go out for a smoke during class, or to leave class for any simply because you wish. However if you must step out (e.g.: to go to the rest room), do not interrupt to ask for permission: simply get up and quietly walk out and then return as quietly as you can.

You will find that UD professors really expect you to be engaged in the lecture - that means you participate by listening and asking questions and answering questions. Often a lecture turns into a big discussion with everyone contributing.

Will I need electricity adapters?

Yes. Most of your countries use higher voltage electricity (220V/240V) than the U.S., which uses 120V. Check the charger of each electronic device you want to bring: it will tell you which voltage it accepts. Some devices (most laptops) will accept both 220V and 120V: in this case you only need a plug adapter (plugs in the US and in your country are of different shapes).

Most your devices will only accept 220V, so you need an electricity converter. We encourage you to get plugs and converters at home before you leave, since they are expensive in the US. If you need to purchase an adapter in the US, they are widely available both in Newark and at our study tour locations. Adapters are sold at many convenient stores, electronic stores and malls, and program staff can assist you with purchasing this item.

Where can I get local news?

The UD community news resource is located online at: www.udel.edu/UDaily
The News Journal, a Wilmington newspaper, can be found at: www.delawareonline.com

What should I do in case of an emergency?

The national emergency number is 911 and works with any phone. They will transfer you to the appropriate unit. Should you have to use it, ask for the Newark Police. You have to dial a 9 first to get off-campus - so if using a campus phone dial 9- 911.

For problems on the UD campus (buildings, parking lots, green areas, etc, managed by UD), call the UD Police at 831-2222. If you do not have a phone with you, look around and go to the nearest Blue Light Phone. We have Blue Light Phones everywhere on campus. They blue lights are well visible, and below them is a phone that will connect you to the UD Police. Caution: blue light phones are for emergencies only. If possible, also alert a program staff member to any emergency you may have and they will find the appropriate help for you.

What kind of clothing should I bring?

Since the weather will be hot, bring comfortable (light-weight) everyday clothes. We will have 1-2 more formal events where the dress code is academic casual (men: polo shirt or long-sleeve and chino or khaki trousers; women: whatever you feel is formal enough. Do not wear jeans at a business casual event). You are also welcome to wear traditional clothes at a formal dinner if you like. I would also suggest bringing swimwear if you wish to use the pool or beach while in the US.

We also recommend sunglasses and a hat since you will be in the sun when you walk around campus and when we travel. It is also recommended that you wear sunscreen, especially when the weather is sunny and when we are in Colorado, as the sun is much stronger due to the higher altitude.

What places will we visit?

You will be in the small college town of Newark, Delaware (not to be confused with the huge industrial city just one state away - Newark, New Jersey) for most the program with focused study tours in San Diego, California as well as New York City and Philadelphia. Each of these regions has distinct cultures and sometimes even the language (dialect) is quite different!

You will visit or pass though California, Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, and Washington, D.C. - more states that many Americans have even traveled through!

What about money and credit cards?

Although we suggest that you exchange your currency before arriving in the US, there are currency exchange locations in Delaware and at various study tour locations. You can also use credit cards (Visa and MasterCard) for payment in almost all places, though keep in mind that you may incur transaction fees. You will also be able to withdraw money at ATMs all over campus and there is an ATM in the Christiana Commons Building.

Who will pick us up at the airport?

Your airport arrival plans are coordinated by Georgetown University, and you will receive information about your flight, directions once you get to the airport and confirmation of your travel arrangements from the airport to the hotel in advance of the program. Members of the Georgetown program staff will be at the airport to assist you and provide further direction, though if you have any questions of concerns about your travel, please do not hesitate to ask.

Should I bring medication?

If you regularly take prescription medication, yes. You will be able to buy non-prescription medication such as aspirin on Main Street at a reasonable price.

How do I get around when I want to go out with other students or on weekend excursions during our free time?

You will be provided transportation to all scheduled program activities. We will rent large vans to transport participants and the program staff will drive the vans after undergoing a certification process. Generally speaking, most locations in Newark, including Main Street are within walking distance. In addition, you may take the local bus to more remote locations including the Christiana Mall.

How do I get to the Mosque?

Transportation will be provided by staff each Friday for a trip to the Mosque and we set aside free time each Friday to accommodate those who wish to visit the Mosque In addition, staff will be happy to accommodate any additional trip requests to the Mosque during free time. Information about the Mosque in Delaware and study tour locations will be provided upon arrival to the University of Delaware.

How does Ramadan impact this year's program?

The 2014 MEPI program overlaps with Ramadan. Although we acknowledge that the observance of Ramadan is not universal and may be treated differently by each individual, we also recognize the importance of this occasion and will therefore make every effort to accommodate your individual observance of this event. If there is anything additional that we can do to better accommodate your observance of Ramadan, please do not hesitate to ask a member of the program staff.

Where can I go to get more information?

The UD MEPI website: http://www.udel.edu/global/outreach/mepi.html. You can also feel free to contact any MEPI staff member with questions or concerns you may have about the program and we will be happy to help!

A little (big) helper for foreigners: conversions between US-Metric Units

The United States, unlike many other parts of the world, uses the English system for temperature and measurement. Therefore, please find below some basic conversion information.

  Name of US unit US to Metric Metric to US
Weight Pound
Ounce
1 lb = 0.45 kg
1 kg = 2.2 lbs
1 oz = 28 g
1 kg = 35 oz
Volume (liquids) Fluid Ounce 1 fl oz = 3 cl 1 l = 33.8 fl oz
Length/Distance Inch
Foot
Yard
Mile
1 inch = 2.54 cm
1 foot = 30 cm
1 yd = 91 cm
1 mi = 1.61 km
1 cm = 0.39 inch
1 m = 3.28 feet
1 m = 1.09 yd
1 km = 0.62 mi = 3280 feet
Temperature Fahrenheit Degree °F = °C × 9 / 5 + 32 °C = (°F - 32) × 5/9

 

Share this page youtubetwitterfacebookSTAY CONNECTED

 

 

""FACULTY

Participants From:

Algeria
Bahrain
Egypt
Gaza
Israel
Iraq
Jordan
Kuwait
Lebanon
Libya
Morocco
Oman
Qatar
Saudi Arabia
Syria
Tunisia
U.A.E.
Yemen
West Bank
  • Institute for Global Studies  •   Elliott Hall, 26 East Main Street  •   Newark, DE 19716  •   USA
    Phone: ++1 (302) 831-2852  •   Fax: ++1 (302) 831-6042  •   © 2011