UD Home | UDaily
Bragging Rights  

Academic Excellence
Measures of Success
In the News

Nobel laureates on the faculty--John Byrne, Distinguished Professor of Public Policy and director of UD's Center for Energy and Environmental Policy, and Frederick “Fritz” Nelson, professor of geography and director of UD's Permafrost Group, are members of a working group within the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), which was awarded the 2007 Nobel Peace prize jointly with former U.S. Vice President Al Gore. IPCC, a science body advising the United Nations on the dangers of global warming, was established in 1988 by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) in recognition of the problem of potential global climate change.

International prize-winners--In 2007, the UD Chorale won the grand prix round of the 10th International Choir Festival in Tallinn, Estonia, the first time since 1994 that an American choir has won the competition. Under the direction of Paul Head, associate professor of music, and accompanied by Betsy Kent, UD Chorale piano accompanist, the 57-member Chorale competed against more than 40 choirs from around the world for selection to the grand prix round, in which the Chorale beat five other choirs and emerged in first place.

The spirit of Delaware--YoUDee, the Fightin’ Blue Hens mascot, is the 2002 national champion and a member of the Mascot Hall of Fame.

In 2008, UD cheerleaders Gillian Guadagnino and Seth Riblett won the coed partner stunt competition national championship, and the cheerleading squad and dance team regularly take top honors in national competition.

The highly regarded Marching Band is 300 members strong and performs championship caliber halftime shows at football games.

Career Award winners--Three UD faculty were selected National Science Foundation Early Career Award winners in 2007. They are Thomas Epps III, assistant professor of chemical engineering, who is developing nanoscale membranes for the next generation of materials; Xinqiao Jia, assistant professor of materials science and engineering, who is working to develop flexible biomaterials to be used as scaffolds for tissue engineering; and Michael Shay, assistant professor of physics and astronomy, who is exploring the mysteries of space weather.

Five faculty were honored in 2006, with four earning NSF honors and one being cited by the National Institutes of Health. The NSF recognized Joseph Fox, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry; Xinyan Deng, assistant professor of mechanical engineering; Balaji Panchapakesan, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering; Christopher Rasmussen, assistant professor of computer and information sciences; and Neal Zondlo, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry. The NIH recognized Christine Ohannessian, assistant professor of individual and family studies.

Making strides in corporate governance--Charles Elson, Edgar S. Woolard Jr. Chair and director of the John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance in the Alfred Lerner College of Business and Economics, is one of the leading experts in the field and has been selected one of the most influential people in the field of corporate governance by Directorship magazine and one of the world’s 100 most influential people in finance by Treasury and Risk Management magazine. Elson was No. 17 in the Directorship 100.

Internationally renowned musician--Xiang Gao, associate professor of music, is a gifted violinist who has performed around the globe. UD purchased a rare Ceruti violin for use by Gao, and in 2006 the Stradivari Society of Chicago announced the loan of an 18th-century Stradivarius “Lady Tennant” violin valued at $3 million for his use. He regularly brings world-class musicians to campus through the Master Players Chamber Series.

Recognized for safety–UD received the 2001 Jeanne Clery Campus Safety Award, a national award that honors schools and individuals that have done extraordinary things to make students safe. Established in memory of a Lehigh University freshman who was murdered in her dormitory in 1986, the award is given by Security on Campus Inc., which was organized by Howard and Connie Clery, Jeanne’s parents, to further the cause of campus safety.