Vol. 20, No. 18

July 19, 2001

Marine dean elected chair
of ocean research consortium

Carolyn A. Thoroughgood, dean of the College of Marine Studies and director of the Delaware Sea Grant College Program, has been elected chairperson of the Board of Governors of the Consortium for Oceanographic Research and Education (CORE). The Washington, D.C.-based association includes 63 U.S. marine research institutions, universities, laboratories and aquaria.

CORE was formed in 1994 to provide a collective voice in presenting the capabilities and needs of the U.S. marine science community to the federal government, ocean science industry and the public. The association's mission is to advance knowledge and learning in the science of oceanography.

As chair of the CORE Board, Thoroughgood will help foster greater interaction between the ocean science community, federal policy makers, and industries so that marine research is adequately supported.

"Academic research provides the essential foundation for addressing the major ocean challenges facing us, from fisheries' decline to global climate change and weather forecasting," she said. "Ocean science yields the objective information needed to address these issues for the public's benefit and the environment's."

Thoroughgood will work closely with CORE's new president, Vice Admiral Conrad Lautenbacher, Jr., U.S. Navy Ret. From 1994 to 1996, as the first chairperson of the CORE Board, she assisted Admiral James Watkins with the association's formation. Watkins recently retired as CORE president and is now serving on the President's Commission on Ocean Policy.

A native of Easton, Md., she earned her bachelor's degree from UD and master's and doctoral degrees in nutritional biochemistry from the University of Maryland. She joined the UD faculty in 1968 and was appointed dean of the College of Marine Studies in 1985.

Earlier this year, Thoroughgood was asked to serve on President Bush's transition advisory committee for the U.S. Department of Commerce. Currently, she is on the board of trustees of the Southeastern Universities Research Association, on the board of directors of the Delaware Innovation Fund and president of the Delaware Chapter of the International Women's Forum.