Vol. 19, No. 32

May 25, 2000

Faculty cited for excellence in teaching, advising

Eight University of Delaware faculty members received $2,500 awards in recognition of their excellence in teaching and advising during the annual Honors Day celebration, held throughout the campus on May 5.

The excellence-in-teaching awards, which were presented to four faculty members, are sponsored by the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation and the University Alumni Association and are based primarily on student evaluations.

The excellence-in-advising awards are given to emphasize the importance of academic advising, to recognize and reward excellent faculty advisers and to encourage faculty to devote more time and attention to becoming effective advisers.

Photographs of the excellence-in-teaching award recipients will be displayed in the Morris Library.

Excellence-in-teaching recipients include (from left) Charles R. Link, economics; Mary Beth Miele, medical technology; Adarshpal S. Sethi, computer and information sciences; and Robert C. Hodson, biological sciences.

Excellence-in-advising recipients include (from left) Daniel F. Callahan, history; C. Ulrich Toensmeyer, food and resource economics; Julie W. Wilgen, individual and family studies; and Terry M. Whittaker, business and economics.